Tomato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I just made this today for the first time. It is excellent! I didn't add as much cayenne as the recipe called for because I don't care for hot spices. Other than that I left it the same and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Everybody loved this. Not at all complicated. I failed to peel and it still came out well. I did put mayonnaise on the crust before building the pie and the crust was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Ridiculously good! Great way to use up our over-abundance of tomatoes! Just wish I could have cut down on the fat content a bit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This receipe was very disappointing. Very flavouful but it was very soggy due to the juice from the tomoatoes. I didn't read the reviews first, but I do agree that the tomatoes should be seeded and drained. I'll try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
The Tomato Pie I was delicious. My husband and I loved it. Will make again. Like other reviews, I pre-baked the pie shell. Was not soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Changed it up a bit by using Brie & Mozz, just what I had on hand and omitted mayo cause I was out. "Sweated" tomato slices with kosher salt & put between several layers of paper towels for about 30 mins, also pre-baked (homemade) crust so with these modifications I did not end up with too much liquid in the finished product, although next time I will pre-bake crust 15 mins instead of 10. I tried it hot & cold, prefered the cold. Very good savory pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Wasn't sure what to expect, first time ever making this. Ended up being a big hit! Next time might add some ground beef into the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottjl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
What a fabulous way to showcase summer’s bounty of ripe, delicious tomatoes! Taking suggestions from other reviewers I sliced the tomatoes and then let them drain on a rack over paper towels for a bit and also brushed the crust with egg white and prebaked it for ten minutes before adding the tomatoes. They were both excellent suggestions because I had no problems with a soggy crust. I used fresh oregano instead of dried and along with the fresh basil it was perfect. I can’t wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
VERY GOOD! simple yet delicious..I did prebake crust for 10min.. and used ingred, but just sprinkled basil and oreg.on the layers didn,t measure,,though didn,t have scallions ,,so used reg,chopped onion..had family and friends over,,everybody raved about it,,my husband told me,,it is 1 of the best things I ever made,,I think that was a compliment,,lol!! and my son took it home..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I did not like this recipe at all. The cheesy mayo topping was overpowering and unpleasant to the palate. It was so soggy including the bacon and there is nothing more disgusting than soggy bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States