Tomato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I was disappointed. This didn't taste like a BLT at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by owlsnest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oureatinghabits
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
It was a bit spicy for the kids with the red pepper, next time I will just use plain balck pepper. But I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This is an Excellant recipe. I pre-baked crust for 10 minutes. Sliced about 8 roma tomatoes and let them sit in a colander for a couple hours, giving it a shake every now & then. Used half mozzarella and half Gouda for cheese. This pie baked up golden brown and not at all soggy. It was very good. This recipe is now one of my favorites. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Wonderful my husband has told everyone about how good this is. I did cook the crust for 10 mintues before filling it. Used our homegrown tomatoes. Going to make it again tonight second time this week. Thanks for my newest fav recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrsmegnolia
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I loved this recipe! A couple of friends came for dinner and they were vegetarians so, of course I had to make a few alterations. No problem! I just didn't add the bacon. My husband asked me to add the bacon next time although, he said he it was just fine with out. I used Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust from this site which always turns out great. I added sliced zucchini, bell pepper, spinach, a large spanish onion, & the tomatos (peeled and seedless). I used different cheeses: fresh mozzarella, fontina, provolone, parmesan, and asiago. Also, I always try to use as many fresh and organic ingredients as I can so, I used fresh oregano chopped very fine instead of the dried. Next time, for my husbands sake, I'll try the recipe exactly and follow it verbatim. Oh, and as far as the soggy crust goes, I pre-baked my crust and brushed it with egg to create a seal. It definitely helped. I had no mushy crust; The crust was flaky and all of the veggies made this a really juicy pie. Nothing will stop the juiciness of this pie and I like it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrsmegnolia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
The taste was delicious but a word of warning... DON"T EAT FRESH FROM THE OVEN... allow to cool at least a little bit otherwise it is extremely juicey.... also allowing the tomatos to juice out might not be a bad idea.... also baking the crust first will stop to bottom crust fromagetting soggy.... the recipe tasted great though... UPDATE UPDATE.... just ate the left overs cold from the refridgerator.... AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I just made this today for the first time. It is excellent! I didn't add as much cayenne as the recipe called for because I don't care for hot spices. Other than that I left it the same and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Everybody loved this. Not at all complicated. I failed to peel and it still came out well. I did put mayonnaise on the crust before building the pie and the crust was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Ridiculously good! Great way to use up our over-abundance of tomatoes! Just wish I could have cut down on the fat content a bit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This receipe was very disappointing. Very flavouful but it was very soggy due to the juice from the tomoatoes. I didn't read the reviews first, but I do agree that the tomatoes should be seeded and drained. I'll try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States