Tomato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I made this for dinner and my husband and I loved it! I followed others advice and precooked the crust for 10 minutes and well as blotted the tomatoes so they weren't as watery. It was great as is, wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I loved this! I also coated pie with egg whites and put it in the oven for 10 minutes first. And I made sure I seeded the tomatoes and set them on a paper towel. My husband loved it so much he asked me to make it again! Today I used sausage and bacon because I didn't have enough bacon-still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This a good pie recipe. I made my version of this with turkey bacon, mozzarella cheese and Italian seasoning mix. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I wanted to love this recipe, I really did. I have so many garden tomatoes! I took the precautions to prevent a soggy crust, but there was such a puddle of juice on the bottom of the pan that I don't recall finding a crust. The flavor was good though, especially the fresh basil. I used part-skim mozzarella and turkey pepperoni--maybe saved a couple of calories! I will make this again with Roma tomatoes, and probably not add mayo to the cheese. I have family members who are creeped out by mayo. Thanks for a great recipe; hopefully next time I make it I will have better results with the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was SUCH a keeper! I was leery of making it - school night, busy, and there's all that shopping to do - but it was so definitely worth it. (And not so much work at all once I had the kids help with the chopping.) The flavors blend beautifully. Totally YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was delicious! Scored tomatoes and then boiled for 20 minutes in order to easily peel. Have to roll out pie crust to fit in pie dishes. Left out the bacon and used 1 1/2 cups cheddar and 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese. Used about 11 big basil leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My family *loved* this recipe so much they fought over who got the seconds... looks like I'll be making 2 next time! I followed the feedback of many of the reviews and 1) prebaked the crust and 2) used tomatoes similar to Romas (but bigger and a little less juicy) and then salted/drained them for about 20 min, patting them dry. I could have drained them a little longer but the bottom crust was in pretty good shape. I also used mozzarella (string cheese in a food processor) since I thought it would go better with the Italian herbs. I served it with grilled Italian herb chicken - a great meal! Will absolutely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
whole family (especially 2 20+ boys ) loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
A winner. Really great flavors and the tomato didn't over power like I thought it might.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Yum! This was an excellent way to use tomatoes from our garden. I would agree with the people who said to drain the tomatoes before making this, as they do get the crust rather soggy if you don't. There's no reason to peel them, though, so I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States