Tomato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I wanted to love this recipe, I really did. I have so many garden tomatoes! I took the precautions to prevent a soggy crust, but there was such a puddle of juice on the bottom of the pan that I don't recall finding a crust. The flavor was good though, especially the fresh basil. I used part-skim mozzarella and turkey pepperoni--maybe saved a couple of calories! I will make this again with Roma tomatoes, and probably not add mayo to the cheese. I have family members who are creeped out by mayo. Thanks for a great recipe; hopefully next time I make it I will have better results with the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was SUCH a keeper! I was leery of making it - school night, busy, and there's all that shopping to do - but it was so definitely worth it. (And not so much work at all once I had the kids help with the chopping.) The flavors blend beautifully. Totally YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was delicious! Scored tomatoes and then boiled for 20 minutes in order to easily peel. Have to roll out pie crust to fit in pie dishes. Left out the bacon and used 1 1/2 cups cheddar and 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese. Used about 11 big basil leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My family *loved* this recipe so much they fought over who got the seconds... looks like I'll be making 2 next time! I followed the feedback of many of the reviews and 1) prebaked the crust and 2) used tomatoes similar to Romas (but bigger and a little less juicy) and then salted/drained them for about 20 min, patting them dry. I could have drained them a little longer but the bottom crust was in pretty good shape. I also used mozzarella (string cheese in a food processor) since I thought it would go better with the Italian herbs. I served it with grilled Italian herb chicken - a great meal! Will absolutely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
whole family (especially 2 20+ boys ) loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
A winner. Really great flavors and the tomato didn't over power like I thought it might.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Yum! This was an excellent way to use tomatoes from our garden. I would agree with the people who said to drain the tomatoes before making this, as they do get the crust rather soggy if you don't. There's no reason to peel them, though, so I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This is like a spicy BLT, so good! I made it as two regular pies, not deep dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I loved this! Left out a few things like the green onion (didn't have) and the red pepper. The fresh basil was a really nice touch. I salted and drained my tomato slices slightly; I don't think my pie was soggy at all. I may leave out the bacon, next time, as I'm not much of a meat girl in the first place. I could see this with other veggies added; I had some fresh mushrooms and am sad I neglected to put some in. Oh, and I used mozzarella cheese, and less than what was called for. Growing up in an Italian neighborhood, any dish with both tomatoes and basil just begs for some good mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I was disappointed. This didn't taste like a BLT at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by owlsnest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States