Tomato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by SpasticChef
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
YUM! GREAT suggestions (don't use deep dish, pre-bake crust, salt & pat dry, romas, etc). I also sub'd sour cream & splash of lemon juice in place of mayo and added fresh spinach...juicy, not runny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpasticChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I loved this recipe! Tomatoes are my favorite food and this was delicious. Especially leftovers cold in the morning!!! YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
My husband said this is a cross between lasagne and a BLT. I'm not a fan of tomatoes and I even thought it was great. We did cut back on the spices and used the ones we had on hand (basil, marjarom and thyme). We also used shredded 4 cheese combo in place of the cheddar. I highly recommend this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I did everything suggested - pre-baked the pie shell for 10 min. plus drained the tomatoes. The bottom still was soggy. Taste was good, but probably won't make again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Mine ended up being fairly watery from the tomatoes which resulted in the crust being mushy, but it was very tasty. I added about a 1/2 cup extra of cheese and reduced the crushed red pepper to 1/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Husband ate the whole pie himself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Definitely a keeper! Got great compliments on this dish. It tastes like a pizza but without a lot of crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I made this for dinner and my husband and I loved it! I followed others advice and precooked the crust for 10 minutes and well as blotted the tomatoes so they weren't as watery. It was great as is, wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I loved this! I also coated pie with egg whites and put it in the oven for 10 minutes first. And I made sure I seeded the tomatoes and set them on a paper towel. My husband loved it so much he asked me to make it again! Today I used sausage and bacon because I didn't have enough bacon-still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This a good pie recipe. I made my version of this with turkey bacon, mozzarella cheese and Italian seasoning mix. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States