Tomato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Made this to use up some tomatoes and fresh basil; now I want to rush out and buy more! Definitely need to make sure the bacon is crisp before layering in the pie. This was good the night I baked it, but FAR better the next day for lunch. Next time, I'll try baking it ahead of time to let the flavors "meld".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Someone suggested using Roma tomatoes to cut down on the liquid. That's a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Love this recipe. I bake the empty pie shell 10 minutes and squeeze the juice out of the tomato slices to keep the crust from getting soggy. Use fresh basil if at all possible...it makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
no bacon, added corn on the cob. tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is delicious! I used some tomatoes that we had left over from our Subway Party Platter and they worked much better than fresh cut up tomatoes, because they had drained more and kept the crust from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Eh! Lot of work, not so sure is worth it. Somewhat over-tomatoey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
this was good, but not really what I expected. I ended up chopping my tomatoes (do you know how difficult it is to slice a peeled tomato?) and I used half a sweet yellow onion sliced & sauteed in butter, instead of the green onions. Fresh basil really makes this (don't try the dried stuff)! Like another reviewer suggested, I like it with chopped peperronis, instead of crumbled bacon (but either is good, it's just that the pepperoni is less trouble). The topping is the best part -- spread it on thick! My main complaint is that the leftovers did not re-heat well -- tomatoes & basil became soggy! (like "Fresh Tomato Pie" on this site by Britt Terry, much better!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I would have just given this 4 stars because I was lazy and didn't peel the tomatoes, but I'm sure that if I didn't have to pull the stringy peels off the pie for almost every bite, it did deserve a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I made this for a family reunion and it was a huge hit.I had to send the recipe to about 15 people. I made it into mini pies as an appetizers!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was very good! I only used 3 tomatoes and should have used 4. Didn't have any green onions and it was still yummy. Also I forgot to cover it and it was still good at only 30 min in the oven, but probably will be better next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States