Tomato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This was a hit! I followed recommendations for salting/draining tomatoes for one hour and patting dry, pre-baking the crust, and sprinkling cheese on the bottom right after you take it out (before any filling is added). Mine was not watery, perfect moistness.. delish! I am anxious to try this again, and may take more of a margherita/bruschetta approach with just tomatoes, basil, mozzarella (instead of cheddar) and garlic.. mouth is watering just thinking about it. A great recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d.anna.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Really liked this! I used fresh mozzarella, and omitted the meat (though I definitely want to try with bacon sometime!). A little watery (even with draining/seeding the tomatoes first), but not bad...it might just be inherent in this type of pie. I think using a baster to remove water throughout baking might work, or maybe pre baking the tomatoes just for a few minutes to get some water out. Very tasty, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah.antoinette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Add a beaten egg to make it less soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Great recipe! I added a little mozarella to the cheddar. I havent tried with pepperoni and probably want. We love homemade pizza so we got that covered. Draining tomatoes on a pappertowel is a must and if you have really fresh tomatoes you dont have to peel them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebMillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
oh myyyy that was gastronomically orgasmic .. i used fresh tomatoes from the garden so was a little sloppy at the bottom and i added a layer of mushroom and a little thyme shhhhhhh .. oh looking at other reviews i might have solved my sloppy bottom issue (no pun please)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kev

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Very, very good recipe.... and it is easy enough to add what ever you would like ... i.e ;bacon,ham,taco meat ,grilled chicken... leftovers .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caspian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I used filo dough instead of pie crust (because that's what I had) and it turned out really delicious! I made it in a 9x13 pan and made about 1 and 1/2 the cheese mixture to cover everything. Absolutely delicious! (I am also a vegetarian, so I used fake bacon instead of real bacon)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This was GREAT! One pie fed 4 people, but they could have ate more and thought it was sooo good!! I doubled the receipe and made 2 pies, since it wasnt that much more work to make another pie, and plan on eating it tomorrow for lunch with a salad. yummy! This was a great way for me to use the abundance of basil from my garden! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
The best, make this all the time in the summer with fresh tomatoes. My whole family loves it, so refreshing. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmcgee220

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodmere, New York, USA
Living In: Carterville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I liked it - didn't peel the tomatoes or put the onions in, but it was still delicious and came out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States