Tomato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
A little trick I learned from my favorite cafe...pre-bake the crust and add a thin layer of your preferred cheese to the bottom. I'd definitely still salt and drain the tomatoes, but thought I'd share her tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This recipe was amazing! I added fresh chopped portabello mushrooms and used shredded Asiago cheese instead of cheddar. My husband asked for a second helping he liked it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is fabulous. I did use fresh oregano from my garden, added a little salt to the tomatoes, and left out the garlic powder. Minor and fairly insignificant changes! Definitely a keeper. Might try a low fat mayo and cheese next time to reduce calories, but meanwhile we are licking our plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Very good. Especially for such a quick unique meal. A definite dish I will make again. Lovely with a grilled steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I did everything other reviewers wrote to prevent a soggy bottom crust. Hubby said the bottom crust came out too damp. He gave it a 9 out of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Way to much basil.Pre- bake your crust for at least 10 min. I don't really think that the prep time is worth the end result, just Okay. Otherwise, Thank You for Sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Fantastic! Especially now when home grown tomatoes are in season. I did prebake the crust and the bottom was not as soggy as I expected after reading reviews. I used fresh mozzarella cheese, and it was fabulous. Thanks so much for a great recipe. Will definintely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
We never had Tomatoe Pie before. After making it yesterday, we realize that we have been missing out. Will be making again. I did use Roma's deseeded patted dry, salted and still had quite a bit of liquid. I did add a layer of fresh mushrooms, maybe that is where the liquid came from. Next time I will omit the mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
It's okay, but this is really just a deep dish pizza that uses a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
We love tomato pie! I find that baking the pie crust by the directions, removing from oven and immediately sprinkling 1/2 cup mozzerella cheese over bottom and allowing it to cool for an hour, seals the bottom of the pie and it will not get soggy. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States