Tomato Pesto Batter Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
This bread was okay, but I was hoping for the flavor of the basil to come through more than it did. I could taste the sun dried tomatoes much more than the herbs. Oh well. Not a bad bread, but just not what I was expecting. If nothing else, thanks for the opportunity to try something new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
This was a terrific quick bread. I added cloves of garlic, chopped. I took this to dinner at a friend's house, where I was told " this tastes like a bread from a gourmet shop." This was served with a crab linguine with spinach and fresh vegetables. Another keeper in my allrecipes recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
This bread was quick, easy, and wonderful. I used about 1/2 & 1/2 w.w. flour and white flour to make it a little more hearty. I also baked it as a round loaf on a flat cooking sheet to give it a crispier crust. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
This is better than any store bought bread from a specialty shop!! My husband and I could have eaten the entire loaf!!! A Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
My new favorite bread!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
I grow my own basil and it's always great to find new ways to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
WONDERFUL!!! MY DAUGHTER MADE THIS BREAD AND WON GRAND CHAMPION AT THE COLORADO STATE FAIR. OUR COMMUNITY LOVES THIS BREAD AND WE ARE ASKED TO MAKE IT FOR FUND-RAISERS AND TO SHARE WITH OTHER 4-H MEMBERS IN BATTER BREADS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I am totally hooked on this bread!!! I have made it about 3-4 times now, and I love it more each time. I used leftover homemmade pesto instead of basil and olive oil since it was so close, and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This bread is very good with some additions. I think it needs more salt and next time I would increase this to 1 tsp. I added in chopped garlic and Parmesan cheese with the basil and sun-dried tomatoes as other reviewers suggested. It turned out great and I used rapid rise yeast as well. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
If you grow basil, make this bread. The smell alone is worth it, but the taste is equally wonderful. Simple, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Kopecky Feeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States