Tomato Pesto Batter Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was an easy first bread to make. I had fresh chives and basil from my window box that I chopped up and baked into it instead of the tomatoes. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very good, with a very prominent flavor from the sundried tomatoes. Brought this to a breakfast yesterday and at least one coworker really enjoyed it--she asked me for the recipe and is having the leftovers for breakfast today. This is a bread you could eat by itself with just some butter or cheese, as it's very flavorful. I left off the butter and used dried basil since I have no fresh at the moment; very easy to make, too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is really awesome bread. I've made it a couple of times now, following the recipe exactly. It really isn't a batter, but a regular bread dough, so I use my KitchenAid and dough hook as I would any other bread. The first time I used the recipe I made pizza dough out of it...SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, California, USA
Living In: Banning, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This bread is very good with some additions. I think it needs more salt and next time I would increase this to 1 tsp. I added in chopped garlic and Parmesan cheese with the basil and sun-dried tomatoes as other reviewers suggested. It turned out great and I used rapid rise yeast as well. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
If you grow basil, make this bread. The smell alone is worth it, but the taste is equally wonderful. Simple, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Kopecky Feeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I blended the sun dried in with the basil and oil in the food processor to get them finely chopped. I preheated my pizza stone in the oven, rolled the dough into a ball, and baked in the oven for 35 minutes. Make sure you watch it so that it doesn't get too dark. If using sundried tomatoes packed in oil, at least half the oil. It's a bit greasy if you keep the same amount of oil since some stays on the tomatoes. I think I'll also add some garlic and parmesean into the food processer when mixing the basil and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This bread was very good and easy to make. Like another reveiwer suggested, I used basil pesto in place of the basil. I think next time I will also add chunks of garlic and try making breadsticks or rolls instead of a whole loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Delicious! I only used about 1/4 c. sun-dried tomatoes (because that's all I had on hand), and there was plenty of tomato flavor. I don't think you need to use the full 1/2 c. in the recipe. I also had trouble pureeing the basil in my blender with so little liquid, so next time I'll try using a food processor instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Awesome bread! Mine took a little longer to double in size both times (more like 45 minutes) and took only 30 minutes to bake. This will be great dipped in some tomato cream sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This was terrific! I made it with the Tuscan Bean Soup from this site. The one thing about my bread was it was done baking about 15 minutes before the rquired time.`
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States