Tomato-Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Delicious just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I thought this was great. I followed the recipe pretty closely and it came out nicely. The only thing I did differently was that I tossed in about a cup of brown rice in the mushroom step to brown. Then, instead of just heating the whole thing through, as the directions say, I let it come to a boil, reduced the heat to simmer and gave the rice about ten minutes to cook. The soup didn't need the rice though, I just had it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
we didn't have red wine, so i used port. i didn't use any butter or cheese, and i used vegetable broth. instead of garnishing with the parsley, i put a little bit in the pan with the olive oil, onions and garlic, and i let the rest of it soak in the broth and other wet ingredients. considering i improvised so much, i think it turned out very good (: thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
so easy and delicious. the wine really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Seriously, this is an excellent (and fast!) soup! I don't give out 5 stars just any 'ol day :). The only change I made was to add a couple squirts of Worcestershire sauce as I had no red wine opened (I don't drink wine, so for me to waste a bottle but for a measly 1/4 cup would be silly). I did use 2 fresh, roma tomatoes (deseeded) instead of the tomato paste. Add the tomatoes to the sauted onions, garlic and mushrooms let the tomatoes cook down before you add the broth. I did not add any water as the soup would have been too thin. Use lots of fresh ground pepper, and I added a teensy pinch of salt as without the canned tomato paste, there really isn't any salt and it would be bland otherwise. Wonderful, filling lunch (and relatively low-fat) and will be making this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
An OK soup. Not bad, but not overwhelmingly good. I followed the recipe except I didn't have red wine so used sherry and white wine instead, so perhaps that was what was missing, but it just did not stand out to me. My search continues for the perfect non creamy mushroom soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This soup was great, and easy to make too. The red wine really gives it a full flavor. The mushrooms soaked up the savory flavors of the broth and I found them to be the best part of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I used less fat (1 teaspoon of EVOO and light butter), two types of mushrooms, all low sodium beef broth and a Shiraz wine (what we had open). And fresh basil at the end because we don't often have fresh parsley. Two of us ate the entire pan for lunch! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
If you are looking for heaven in a bowl... THIS IS IT!!! 100% Vegetarian! Healthy! and DELICIOUS!!! OMG!!! Tomato-Mushroom Soup with Homemade Garlic Bread!!! I doubled the tomato paste, added an extra teaspoon of butter toward the end, used a mix of white mushrooms & cremini mushrooms and added a can of no-salt added diced tomatoes. I let this simmer for about 20 minutes. I was experiencing bliss with every bite when it was done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Amazing flavour.! I used three types of mushrooms: cremini, white & portobello. And added 1.5 diced vine tomatoes. 2 cups of beef broth and 2 types of onion: white & yellow. Both dried & fresh basil, with fresh parmesan/romano blended cheese block.. a bit softer, creating a thicker grated topping. Simmered on low for two hours.. A big hit with dinner guests.! Served with a thin crust pizza (chicken, red pepper - baked crispy), caesar salad and an Italian red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States