Tomato Mozzarella Salad with Balsamic Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Nice summer dinner when you're looking for something on the light side. I halved the recipe, put it on spinach instead of red leaf lettuce, and swapped out the black olives for kalamata olives. My husband gave it an 8 out of 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura McGowan Fry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Balsamic reduction is one of my favorites, and this one is good. Stoves vary, so it is worth watching carefully, but it will probably be about 15 minutes or less. I used rolled mozzarella, lined with dried oregano, fresh basil leaved and thin tomato slices, salt and peper. Refrigerate overnight so flavors marry. Slice the rolls when ready to serve and drizzle a tiny bit of balsamic reduction over it and served. You could also add prosciutto if you like. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Thurmont, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe for the balsamic reduction is GREAT!!!! I didn't make the tomato mozzarella salad, but I used it over a greens and salmon. A TOTAL hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
My balsamic reduction also turned into goop. I was in a hurry and so please do not make this in a hurry. I mixed some olive oil and 2 Tbsp water and heated at very low heat again, whisking constantly. Got saved somehow but this should not be made in a hurry but with a lot of patience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I can't really give this recipe a fair rating, because I was unable to complete it as written. After I reduced the balsamic vinegar, I left it to cool as directed. When I came back 20 minutes later, I was left with a thick, sticky ooze in the bottom of the pan that could barely be scooped out, let alone poured. I had used all of my balsamic vinegar to make this, and had to serve it in 30 minutes, so I placed the "ooze" in my food processor with 1/4 cup of white wine vinegar. I blended that while drizzling in 1/4 cup of olive oil, and then strained the whole thing. The final product was delicious, but not at all what I anticipated. So watch your vinegar very closely, and don't let it reduce too far. But if you do, you can try my method to save it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was great - we eat salad several nights a week and my husband likes the "really big salad" this was a great change of pace for us. Will make it again for sure! We used blackberries - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newaygo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
5 stars great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJGRAU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I only made the balsalmic reduction as a dipping sauce for gorgonzola stuffed, bacon wrapped dates but the reduction was so delicious that I had to rate it. It would be amzing over mushrooms or steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
didnt use the raspberries or olives...it was so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Great and simple. Use a good vinegar, it compresses the complex flavors and you'll appreciate the difference. I used calamatta olives instead of black to give it an occasional kick as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States