Tomato-Mint Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I recently found and fell in love with quinoa and have been making all sorts of dishes with it. This one did not disappoint! I wasn't able to find tomatoes I was happy with, so I instead used grape tomatoes. I also cut the radishes into smaller chunks os that you could get more of everything in each bite. I took the salad to my dad's house for a Labor Day bbq this weekend and everybody loved it! It's really flavorful and refreshing- I wasn't sure how the mint would go with everything, but it really is a perfect blend of flavors. I will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This was an okay salad, but I had higher expectation for it especially since I love quinoa. The sesame-cumin-lime combination was odd, and the whole thing was too acidic for me. On day two I made lettuce wraps of it, and the sweetness of the romaine really helped round out the sharp flavors. I want to try this with something like fresh strawberries added for a touch of sweet and see what that does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This is a great recipe for lunches!!! Quickly put up together, and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I was really board with plain quinoa and this was just a tasty treat. It was a lot of work to chop everything up but it was great in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
You either love this or hate it. 3 of my friends could not get enough but the recipe didn't really impress my palate. However, I added mandarine oranges to sweeten it up, which was taster than the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was my first time using Quinoa and my husband, dinner guests and I all loved it! I left out the radishes (I did not have any in the house) and I added feta cheese (1/3 cup). A delicious salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenmarea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LizzieCookin
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I used olive oil instead of sesame oil and fresh basil instead of parsley because that's what I had. It was fantastic. I can't wait to have it again in lettuce wraps for an easy lunch. Such a fantastic fresh recipe. The raisins were a great sweet touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streator, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
wonderful. doesn't even need oranges or anything else to make it sweet. i was starving so i didn't let it sit for a while. it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFAITHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I was actually a bit too nervous to use the sesame oil for this recipe, so I swapped for olive. I took out the cucumbers and added black beans and a smidge more cumin than was called for. It turned out really good! Would have been good with some fresh summer corn too, to add a little more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
My whole family loves this recipe, even my two young children. I did leave out the radishes, knowing neither of my kids likes them. I think the sesame oil is essential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States