Tomato-Mint Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I recently found and fell in love with quinoa and have been making all sorts of dishes with it. This one did not disappoint! I wasn't able to find tomatoes I was happy with, so I instead used grape tomatoes. I also cut the radishes into smaller chunks os that you could get more of everything in each bite. I took the salad to my dad's house for a Labor Day bbq this weekend and everybody loved it! It's really flavorful and refreshing- I wasn't sure how the mint would go with everything, but it really is a perfect blend of flavors. I will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This was an okay salad, but I had higher expectation for it especially since I love quinoa. The sesame-cumin-lime combination was odd, and the whole thing was too acidic for me. On day two I made lettuce wraps of it, and the sweetness of the romaine really helped round out the sharp flavors. I want to try this with something like fresh strawberries added for a touch of sweet and see what that does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This is a great recipe for lunches!!! Quickly put up together, and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I was really board with plain quinoa and this was just a tasty treat. It was a lot of work to chop everything up but it was great in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
You either love this or hate it. 3 of my friends could not get enough but the recipe didn't really impress my palate. However, I added mandarine oranges to sweeten it up, which was taster than the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was my first time using Quinoa and my husband, dinner guests and I all loved it! I left out the radishes (I did not have any in the house) and I added feta cheese (1/3 cup). A delicious salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenmarea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LizzieCookin
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I used olive oil instead of sesame oil and fresh basil instead of parsley because that's what I had. It was fantastic. I can't wait to have it again in lettuce wraps for an easy lunch. Such a fantastic fresh recipe. The raisins were a great sweet touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streator, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
wonderful. doesn't even need oranges or anything else to make it sweet. i was starving so i didn't let it sit for a while. it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFAITHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I was actually a bit too nervous to use the sesame oil for this recipe, so I swapped for olive. I took out the cucumbers and added black beans and a smidge more cumin than was called for. It turned out really good! Would have been good with some fresh summer corn too, to add a little more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
My whole family loves this recipe, even my two young children. I did leave out the radishes, knowing neither of my kids likes them. I think the sesame oil is essential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States