Tomato-Mint Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I recently found and fell in love with quinoa and have been making all sorts of dishes with it. This one did not disappoint! I wasn't able to find tomatoes I was happy with, so I instead used grape tomatoes. I also cut the radishes into smaller chunks os that you could get more of everything in each bite. I took the salad to my dad's house for a Labor Day bbq this weekend and everybody loved it! It's really flavorful and refreshing- I wasn't sure how the mint would go with everything, but it really is a perfect blend of flavors. I will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This is a great recipe for lunches!!! Quickly put up together, and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was my first time using Quinoa and my husband, dinner guests and I all loved it! I left out the radishes (I did not have any in the house) and I added feta cheese (1/3 cup). A delicious salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenmarea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LizzieCookin
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I used olive oil instead of sesame oil and fresh basil instead of parsley because that's what I had. It was fantastic. I can't wait to have it again in lettuce wraps for an easy lunch. Such a fantastic fresh recipe. The raisins were a great sweet touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streator, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
wonderful. doesn't even need oranges or anything else to make it sweet. i was starving so i didn't let it sit for a while. it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFAITHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I made this exactly according to recipe, and it's fantastic. I'm glad I didn't veto the raisins which sounded weird or sesame oil. Something about all these things together is magic. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Interesting combination of flavors; used sesame oil and raisins per recipe and am glad I did as gave it a more unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalia
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I loved this recipe. I reduced the sesame oil to 1 TBSP (I often find it overpowering) and added more raisins and mint - to me, these were the 2 best flavors. It was absolutely delicious and so easy to make. I used the leftovers as dressing for some homemade falafel, which I fried and put into a pita flatbread. It was a nice alternative to the typical cucumber/tomato/onion mixture, and went great with the garlic, mint and sour cream sauce I whipped up on the fly. I would definitely make this salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Wicked good! I added a little cilantro to this and used cherry tomatoes (like others suggested). I also used fewer radishes as I am not a huge fan. What a refreshing salad with some great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is a huge hit, even with college boys. I wasn't sure about the radishes and mint, but this combo alongside the lime juice and cumin makes this a refreshing and delicious side dish for any summertime menu! In my latest versions, I tend to omit the cucumbers (since I don't like them) and find that a touch of olive oil works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States