Tomato Macaroni Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
yummy! simple & easy. added more margarine & less milk. very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Photo by shans1622
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I used non dairy creamer instead of milk, so it wouldn't scorch. Otherwise left everything else the same was very good for a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
It was good but not outstanding. After simmering for a few minutes I tasted it and quickly decided it needed something more, so I added a little garlic powder. I'm not keen on the macaroni in there either so if I make it again I will not add the macaroni. Also added a little cornstarch to thicken it a bit. As someone else said it's a good starter base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Kind of boring by itself, but a good starting point. I added chopped onion and basil (Italian seasoning would be good, but my kids don't like it) and a can of crushed tomatoes. Sliced celery would have been good, too, as would have many other veggies (but then again, my kids would not have eaten it). We also sprinkled Parmesan cheese on top of each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was a good quick lunch. My son loved it! I used diced tomatoes and blended them in the end to make it smoother. Can't wait to use fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is a recipe I grew up with. My Grandmother made it all the time. She did do a couple of thing differently though. She chopped up a large onion and put it in the pasta water allowing it to boil about 10 min. before adding the pasta to the pot, when the pasta was cooked she left about a 1/4 of the cooking water and the onions in the pot. The tomatoes were then added to the pasta with about 3/4 tsp. of baking soda then the milk, butter, salt & pepper were added and heated gentley. This still remains one of my familys favorite comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This was unpleasant. It was like canned tomatoes floating in milk, pretty much. Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
It wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Cl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I made this for myself tonight, and was very happy with the results. I did add a few extra ingredients. I had some sun-dried tomato pesto in the pantry, and added about a teaspoon. I added a bit of half & half to make the soup a bit richer and creamy. I also added some dried basil, onion powder, a handful of fresh minced parsley, a couple of shakes of dried chives and chili powder too. I loved the slight garlic taste the pesto gave the soup. I had my bowl of soup with some fresh buttermilk bread. The whole meal really hit the spot and was a real tummy-warmer. Thanks for the great, and so easy, recipe Norma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElvisInFlorida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dudley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Sorry to say, we didn't like this very much -- the acidity of the tomatoes clashed with the milk, the ingredients didn't seem to "marry" very well. If I made it again I might add some sugar to cut the tomatoes' acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States