Tomato Harvest Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dennis Zirkle
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I just opened one of my jars of marinara (and I made three batches) to make a meat sauce and have to say I am badly disappointed. I'm sure the lemon is necessary, but is the amount necessaryt? its flavor is over powering and very bitter and, frankly, ruined my sauce making it inedible for me. It looks great and even smells good, but the bitterness of the lemon ruins it for me. It also leaves a bitter taste in my mouth long after eating it. Now I have 15 jars of marinara I can't do anhything with. Is there anyway to save it? This was a costly mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Zirkle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda May
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Definitely a labor of love it took a long time but it seems to be worth it. It made a really great base red sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda May

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
It is imperative to add the lemon juice to raise the acidity and you must can at proper time and temperatures to maintain safety. Things can always seal but does not mean they are safe. Please read safe canning guidelines before anymore attempts to can to keep you and those you are feeding your product to safe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This came out well and was pretty straightforward. I used beefsteaka nd plum tomatoes (whatever the garden offered) and added a little wine and red pepper flakes, along with some fresh herbs from the garden - sage, basil, oregano and parsley. Next time, I would use more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This recipe was easy, tasty and awesome! 'I'm going to use it year round to can my beef stake tomatoes. I didn't find it necessary to change a thing,,,perfect the way it is. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Great base recipe. I used 12 pounds of tomatoes. I blanched the tomatoes before pureeing them. The sauce was thin at first but as it cooked down it thickened up. And yes it did take a long time to thicken. Worth it though. I skipped the canning because I don't know how to :/ Sad for me. After the sauce thickened I added extra spices and made a really nice spaghetti and meatball dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
when all else fails...READ THE DIRECTIONS!...I followed directions, even altering the amount of things with the handy serving size adjuster...and it turned out great.....did add just a bit more spice to my liking...I will make this recipe again....Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Mine has been simmering for 5 hours now & still is not thick. Maybe it's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I just finished canning all the tomatoes. Butt two questions ? I forgot to add lemon juice ? I only processed them for 15 minutes ? The jar's are all sealed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SMak
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I read my "New" Allrecipes stir things up magazine yesterday and couldn't wait to try the Tomato Harvest Marinara Sauce! I had 25 pounds of fresh picked Plum Tomatoes and followed the recipe using the tip from Sara, to skin the tomatoes first. I cut up the tomatoes before adding and divided the tomatoes between 2 five quart stainless steel pots. I used a 1/2 pint jar of homemade tomato sauce instead of water in each pot. I used the spices called for but doubled the quantity. I put the first pot on with the spices to get it started while working on the second giving it time to simmer the flavors incase I needed to adjust the spices. I used 2 3/4 pound sweet onions and 10 garlic cloves chopped fine, cooked as directed. I divided the onion and garlic evenly in each pot. It is now simmering on the stove until thick enough to can, which I don't think will take more than an hour because of the tomato sauce instead of water. Great Recipe, a lot of work, but of course worth every minute. Yield is definitely off, I am hoping to get 6-7 Quarts, no way this will make 10. Love the New magazine....on to finding another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMak

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States