Tomato Harvest Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This came out well and was pretty straightforward. I used beefsteaka nd plum tomatoes (whatever the garden offered) and added a little wine and red pepper flakes, along with some fresh herbs from the garden - sage, basil, oregano and parsley. Next time, I would use more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This recipe was easy, tasty and awesome! 'I'm going to use it year round to can my beef stake tomatoes. I didn't find it necessary to change a thing,,,perfect the way it is. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Great base recipe. I used 12 pounds of tomatoes. I blanched the tomatoes before pureeing them. The sauce was thin at first but as it cooked down it thickened up. And yes it did take a long time to thicken. Worth it though. I skipped the canning because I don't know how to :/ Sad for me. After the sauce thickened I added extra spices and made a really nice spaghetti and meatball dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
when all else fails...READ THE DIRECTIONS!...I followed directions, even altering the amount of things with the handy serving size adjuster...and it turned out great.....did add just a bit more spice to my liking...I will make this recipe again....Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Mine has been simmering for 5 hours now & still is not thick. Maybe it's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I just finished canning all the tomatoes. Butt two questions ? I forgot to add lemon juice ? I only processed them for 15 minutes ? The jar's are all sealed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SMak
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I read my "New" Allrecipes stir things up magazine yesterday and couldn't wait to try the Tomato Harvest Marinara Sauce! I had 25 pounds of fresh picked Plum Tomatoes and followed the recipe using the tip from Sara, to skin the tomatoes first. I cut up the tomatoes before adding and divided the tomatoes between 2 five quart stainless steel pots. I used a 1/2 pint jar of homemade tomato sauce instead of water in each pot. I used the spices called for but doubled the quantity. I put the first pot on with the spices to get it started while working on the second giving it time to simmer the flavors incase I needed to adjust the spices. I used 2 3/4 pound sweet onions and 10 garlic cloves chopped fine, cooked as directed. I divided the onion and garlic evenly in each pot. It is now simmering on the stove until thick enough to can, which I don't think will take more than an hour because of the tomato sauce instead of water. Great Recipe, a lot of work, but of course worth every minute. Yield is definitely off, I am hoping to get 6-7 Quarts, no way this will make 10. Love the New magazine....on to finding another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMak

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
The taste was nice, but I am giving this 2 stars because the amount it yields is way off, unless the sauce is supposed to be super thin. And after checking other recipes, this one just doesn't add up. Tomato sauce will average about 6-7 lbs of tomatoes per quart. Anyway, nice sauce but it was a lot of work for a much smaller yield than I was expecting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
To clarify Sunny's comment, there are no separate rubber rings used in canning this sauce. Those are 'old school.' The rings referred to in Step 5 of the directions are screw-on metal rings (the outer rings that fit over the flat metal jar lid) standard with all two-part lids for Ball and Mason canning jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScandoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Nice recipe!! But about the canning part; never boil the rubber rings. Wash them well and pour previously boiled water over them just before you start to fill your sterile jars and lids. If you boil the rubber seals they might/probably will crack and become useless to your canning efforts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States