Tomato Harvest Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dennis Zirkle
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I have what is probably a stupid question, but I'm going to ask anyway. I've made this recipe twice and each time I've changed up the seasonings...no big deal. However, my question is with step 3. I boiled the tomatoes and used a slotted spoon to transfer them to a food mill to process; toss the water and add the tomatoes to my cooked onions. The part that confuses me is the "Return the tomato pulp and juice to the stockpot, add the cooked onions and garlic, and cook, uncovered, over medium-high heat until sauce thickens and reduces by about half, about 1 to 1-1/2 hours. Stir occasionally to prevent scorching" part. Am I adding the pulp and juice back to the seasoned water they were boiling in and reducing and following the remaining steps or dumping the water and cooking just the puree and onions and reasoning? I haven't been the tomato by-product back into the seasoned water and it seems like a waste that with the water, I'm pouring all the spices down the drain and have to reason. I also cook at a low simmer for a several hours, but I can't seem to get a rich tomato tasting marinara. HELP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Zirkle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda May
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Definitely a labor of love it took a long time but it seems to be worth it. It made a really great base red sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda May

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
It is imperative to add the lemon juice to raise the acidity and you must can at proper time and temperatures to maintain safety. Things can always seal but does not mean they are safe. Please read safe canning guidelines before anymore attempts to can to keep you and those you are feeding your product to safe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This came out well and was pretty straightforward. I used beefsteaka nd plum tomatoes (whatever the garden offered) and added a little wine and red pepper flakes, along with some fresh herbs from the garden - sage, basil, oregano and parsley. Next time, I would use more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This recipe was easy, tasty and awesome! 'I'm going to use it year round to can my beef stake tomatoes. I didn't find it necessary to change a thing,,,perfect the way it is. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Great base recipe. I used 12 pounds of tomatoes. I blanched the tomatoes before pureeing them. The sauce was thin at first but as it cooked down it thickened up. And yes it did take a long time to thicken. Worth it though. I skipped the canning because I don't know how to :/ Sad for me. After the sauce thickened I added extra spices and made a really nice spaghetti and meatball dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
when all else fails...READ THE DIRECTIONS!...I followed directions, even altering the amount of things with the handy serving size adjuster...and it turned out great.....did add just a bit more spice to my liking...I will make this recipe again....Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Mine has been simmering for 5 hours now & still is not thick. Maybe it's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I just finished canning all the tomatoes. Butt two questions ? I forgot to add lemon juice ? I only processed them for 15 minutes ? The jar's are all sealed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SMak
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I read my "New" Allrecipes stir things up magazine yesterday and couldn't wait to try the Tomato Harvest Marinara Sauce! I had 25 pounds of fresh picked Plum Tomatoes and followed the recipe using the tip from Sara, to skin the tomatoes first. I cut up the tomatoes before adding and divided the tomatoes between 2 five quart stainless steel pots. I used a 1/2 pint jar of homemade tomato sauce instead of water in each pot. I used the spices called for but doubled the quantity. I put the first pot on with the spices to get it started while working on the second giving it time to simmer the flavors incase I needed to adjust the spices. I used 2 3/4 pound sweet onions and 10 garlic cloves chopped fine, cooked as directed. I divided the onion and garlic evenly in each pot. It is now simmering on the stove until thick enough to can, which I don't think will take more than an hour because of the tomato sauce instead of water. Great Recipe, a lot of work, but of course worth every minute. Yield is definitely off, I am hoping to get 6-7 Quarts, no way this will make 10. Love the New magazine....on to finding another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMak

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States