Tomato Green Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
My husband and I love this soup! I followed the recipe but I added a few more things. 1 cup sliced fresh baby portabello mushrooms, 1/2 cup diced green bell pepper, 1/2 cup diced yellow bell pepper, 1 cup diced celery, 2 low sodium chicken boullion cubes, 1/4 tsp. oregano, 1/2 tsp. dried basil (crushed). I stirred in the tomatoes and mushrooms the last 5 minutes of simmering. Also with the extra veggies, you will need to add another 1 or 2 cups of chicken broth or water. Serve in bowl and sprinkle with fresh diced green onion. You can also sprinkle with fresh grated parmesan and crushed red pepper to spice it up a bit. It's soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
So exciting to see my kids- ages 3.5 & 1.5 - sipping down a soup with green beans! I blended it so that they'd eat it & they sure enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is the best soup ever i made it really good and my kids love it.......So if anyone said did you try tomato green bean soup i would say yes i did.....You have to try it for real....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasa
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was really good - I added a few diced red potatoes and let the soup simmer for an hour instead of 20 mins - it was very flavorful (and pretty!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I was searching for a recipe to use all the garden produce. The only change I made was to leave out the basil and salt, we didn't miss them. I used liquid buttery non-fat spray to saute. Also used more carrots as I had so many from the garden to use and several cloves of garlic instead of one.. Also added 1 cup of whole wheat bulgar the last 20 minutes or so of cooking instead of pureeing to thicken. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Roloff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was a great recipe for the beans and tomatoes from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Johnston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This soup tasted rather bland to me. It's probably not one I'd choose to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This was really good! my whole family loved it, and it is a really great feeling to watch your 2 year old and 3 year old eat EVERY BITE of anything with vegetables! I added a potato and also a little okra..sooo good! we ate the leftovers cold for lunch and it was just as delicious. I will make this again and again.- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I used fresh green beans and crushed tomatoes. Just added the tomatoes at the same time as the beans and let all of the ingredients simmer together for at least 30 minutes. Very tasty and nourishing and I would probably always have the ingredients on hand so it's convenient, too. I used Italian Seasoning instead of all basil and added a small amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This soup was delicious - we were looking for a use for all of the tomatoes and green beans from the garden - this was great. I actually omitted the basil - I thought it might overwhelm the soup - I didn't miss it at all. I also left it to simmer for much longer than called for - I just left it on the stove all afternoon. I think the soup would be really good with chicken, or lamb, or sausage. Definitely going to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States