Tomato Gorgonzola Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Very, very good soup and super easy! I used whole milk instead of cream and it turned out great. I also blended the soup to give it a nicer texture.Finally, I used neufchatel cheese to cut back on a few calories. Will be passing this on for sure! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
My friend made this recipe for a party this past weekend, and everyone raved. She added a few special touches that I wrote on my copy of the recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Due to what I had available this was great with the following alterations: minus the cream and tomato juice, plus 2 cups vegetable stock, another cup/8 oz. (I used fresh, peeled) chopped tomatoes (3 tomatoes), substituting bleu for gorgonzola, and fresh shredded basil and parsley which I added on a whim; this was very nice. SO savory, and elegant. Paired with a simple green salad, some homemade lox and a dry white wine it was a nice Friday evening supper. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
A wonderful flavored soup with the cheese taste the topper. I to used an immersion blender to make the soup creamier. I made the soup and then refrigerated it until ready to be served. When reheating, use low heat as it should not come to a boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doughok

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I've only made one other recipe, so I suppose saying this is 'the best' may not carry a lot of merit, but this would easily be a soup you would find in a nice restaurant. I didn't have cream so I used straight milk and since I didn't have tomato juice, was making it out of tomato paste (3/4 c paste + 1 cup water to make tomato sauce, then equal parts sauce/water to make juice) so I added in an extra teaspoon or two of paste as a thickener. It was excellent. I pureed the whole thing and my kids, husband and myself dipped grilled cheese sandwiches into it. Definitely something I'm going to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I adjusted the servings to 10 and made this for a teachers luncheon for PTA at my daughters school. The PTA president told me there was a little conflict on who got the last bowl. Don't be afrad to try this if youre not reall fond of gorganzola or blue cheese. i hate both, but this is oneof my favorite soups. the cheese just gives it a creaminess that is sooooo good! LOVE THIS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nederland, Texas, USA
Living In: Groves, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Great ( and easy) recipe! I doubled this recipe for a ladies luncheon and glad I did! It was a hit! I even used reduced fat cream cheese and half-n-half in place of heavy cream. Although next time I might reduce the amount of cream cheese a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Wow! Wow! Wow! I didn't have any gorgonzola, so I used all cream cheese and it turned out DELICIOUS!!! Can only imagine how it will taste with gorgonzola! And.... I LIKED mine chunky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I made this soup for a party. EVERYONE loved it!! I roasted the red pepper first and removed the skin. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I loved this recipe! Very adaptable. Also, I added spinach to mine just to try it--delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States