Tomato Garbanzo Soup with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Yum! This was a very tomato-y soup. By cutting out the pepper flakes and chili powder, and adding ground dried garlic I made a soup the whole family loved. The kids didn't even mind the cumin. The only mistake I made was to add chicken bullion per other reviewers comments, only I added twice what I should have. It was too salty even without salt (I thankfully forgot to add it). All in all a quick and tasty soup for my tomato and garbanzo loving family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rnewbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Without modification this recipe would not deserve 4 stars. Followed the suggestion to use one can of tomatoes. I added 4 cups water, with chicken bouillon. Brown rice. Cooked chicken. Garlic. Onion. This recipe consisted of just about everything from a shelf so I decided it would make a great food storage recipe so I used only dehydrated onion, carrot. I increased all the spice, we like extra spicy. My family thought this was a hit! Served with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Great hearty low-cal soup. I make a pot and then eat it for lunch every day. It's thick and filling, yet only 200 calories for a big bowl. It is super spicy, so watch out! You can tone down the spices if you need to. I make it with whole grain brown rice for a little extra fiber, but otherwise I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Wasnt too crazy about this one. Weird texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'nicky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I had to add 2 cups of water with the beans because all of the liquid was gone. Almost too spicy that night but nearly perfect the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I read the reviews before I made this, so I sauteed some onion and garlic in olive oil and added some celery seed (don't have celery at the moment). This helped a bit with the flavor but I still thought it could use a bit more. However, I didn't use nearly as much pepper as called for--I can't handle that much red and black pepper! I didn't use 2 cans of tomatoes; instead, I subbed the water for chicken broth and added 2 more cups of liquid. I don't have just carrots so I used a veggie mix I have in the freezer. Turned out well enough, but it definitely would have been very tomatoe-y and thick if I'd followed the recipe as written. I like thick soups, but it would have been too thck for me so I'm glad I added the extra broth. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very easy. I would add a few things though: 2 cloves of garlic, chopped; 1 small onion, chopped; and 1 stick of celery, chopped. Maybe a small pepper too, like an anaheim or jalapeno, chopped. Cook the veggies in 2 T. of oil, then add the tomatoes, beans, rice, and water. I ran out of chili powder, but used curry instead. It was great. Also, you are going to need more water, up to 2 cups, using a reducing technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Kind of gone off this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Excellent soup! Hearty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I reworked the recipe. Decided that two cans of tomatoes was too much. I also didn't want to use the rice and used onion instead. The response I got from my family was that it was better than they thought it would be. But, I wish the garbanzos had absorbed more of the spices. My guess is this recipe would be better served one or two days later. 1 onion or 1-1/2 cups, chopped 4 cloves garlic, minced 1 (14.5) oz. can Del Monte tomatoes with basil, garlic & oregano (no salt added), pulsed lightly in the food processor 2 cups broth (I used pan drippings/broth left over broth from baking cornish hens the night before) 1/4 cup celery, finely diced 1/4 cup carrot, finely diced 2 tablespoons green pepper, finely diced 1 teaspoon ground cumin 1/2 teaspoon chili powder 1/2 teaspoon red pepper 1/2 teaspoon salt or to taste 1/2 teaspoon black pepper or to taste 1 (15 oz.) can garbanzo beans Saute onion in oil in skillet until onion begins to brown. Add garlic, cook and stir until lightly browned. Transfer to a stew pot and add tomatoes, broth, celery, carrot, green pepper, seasonings and garbanzo beans. Simmer on low heat for about 30 minutes or until carrot is tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psweston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States