Tomato Florentine Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Amazing, amazing soup!!! My two year old ate it up faster than he's ever eaten anything!!! I couldn't believe it. His little brother liked it, too! The use of tomato paste is genius- it gives the soup a rich, "tomato soup" flavor which you don't get with the canned tomatoes that soup recipes usually seem to call for. I'll use it in my tomato-ish soups from now on. That being said, I did make modifications (per recommendations in other reviews). I only used about 4-5 oz tomato paste, and even then I used way more broth to get the typical soup broth consistency. In the end 3 cups beef broth and 4 cups chicken broth. I cooked it in the crockpot to make the veggies nice and soft (adding uncooked pasta about 1 1/2 before finish time). The broth reduced quite a bit. I added basil per another review (1/8 tsp). Used same amount of nutmeg. About 1/4 tsp each salt and pepper. Didn't have squash- about doubled the carrots instead. And only one tsp sugar. Served the soup as the first course while grilled cheese sandwiches for the second cooked in the toaster oven. Delicious and filling pairing! Definitely bookmarking this recipe for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Loved this... upped the veggies and stock. Next time will cut back on pasta just a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I gave it a 3, hubby gave it a 5 based on how I made it. Used chicken stock instead of broth, upped broth by 1/2 cup, omitted tomato paste (per other reviewer's suggestions) and spinach (didn't have). I gave a generous shake of nutmeg and salt and added about 1.5 tsp basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
The tomato paste was too much; it was like a super tomato soup with some veggies. I did add some basil and oregano to make it edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Edible but not enough seasonings. I had to really doctor this one up and still not sure what I put in it. Family did not like it. Will look for another recipe as this was not the kind of T.Florentine soup I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This is delicious! Very hearty and filling. This is now in my regular rotation. Sommetimes I add more veggies, for a heartier soup. I have used frozen spinach, but fresh is so much better. I love it with a ton of fresh black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This soup is not only delicious by quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
The broth was a bit too thick for my tastes, and as a previous reviewer said, the veggies were a bit undercooked. Tomato Florentine soup is not the same thing as plain Tomato soup and usually I like Tomato Florentine broth a bit thinner and more seasoned. My husband enjoyed it but I think if I were to make this again I would cut back on some of the tomato ingredients (most likely the paste) and add more chicken stock for flavor and consistency. I would also recommend adding some of your favorite soup seasonings to spice it up a bit. Not a bad soup, just nothing amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Was not happy with this, seemed odd to add vegetables after the broth and it tasted like it! Broth was too thick, vegetables not cooked enough even though I added water, seasoning and cooked for much longer than called for in the hopes of a pleasant soup! I even held off adding the pasta with my former experiences of knowing that pasta breaks down if left to simmer in soup too long. With complete respect to the receipe submitter, I question the ingredients and the method to this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
My family did not like this recipe at all. It didn't have enough seasoning to it. I will never make it again. I had to throw the whole pot out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bankergrl1976

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chadbourn, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States