Tomato Enchilada Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Oh wow was this yummy! The night before, I put two chicken breasts in my crockpot and dumped the can of diced tomatoes over them, and set it to low. In the morning, I added the onion. About an hour before making dinner, I drained the chicken (reserving broth for another use). Shredded it, and mixed with sour cream, green onion and chili powder. Added cumin and garlic powder. Then prepared as directed, except I didn't put the cheese on until the last 10 minutes. The chicken was moist, tender and delicious! We love tomatoes, and we loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I recently made this dish for a party, and it was quite a hit! I made a few minor modifications. I used store bought enchilada sauce, as opposed to the sauce suggested here. I also added a package of taco seasoning to the chicken and sour cream mixture instead of the spices listed. Finally, instead of rolling individual enchiladas, I layered small corn tortillas, then the chicken mixture, then more corn tortillas and finished with cheese and enchilada sauce. I am a vegetarian, so I did not try the dish, but it received rave reviews and was gone before I knew it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUCCI013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
So I brought this recipie to the church potluck. One guy was complaining to me that "he doesn't like to try anything new" and that this dish looked suspicious (because of the olives on top). His wife browbeat him into trying it... and he RAVED about it and even went back for seconds! This is a great recipe; I really liked it. I cooked the chicken in the crock pot all day while I was at work (just 3 frozen split chicken breasts and a cup of water) to avoid having to cook them at night, and then shredded the meat. Came out great! I also used mild salsa, because we don't like things too spicy. I'm definitely adding this to my rotation at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This was delicious! I have been looking and looking for a red sauce type enchilada because the one I was making used Cream of Chicken Soup and it just wasn't very Mexicany. After reading other reviews I made a few minor changes. I didn't have green onions, but I sauted some regular onion in some butter and added it to the mixture instead. I also added Cumin and garlic pepper to both the filling and the sauce. I also added a little bit of cheese in the filling and used a mexican blend cheese on top. It made a whole lot of filling and I was able to use 8 tortillas instead of 6 and probably could have used the whole 10 even. I did double the sauce which I was glad I did because it wouldn't have been enough if I didn't. I did't use any olives because I didn't have any and I can't stand them anyway. I did drain my can of tomatoes and the enchiladas weren't soggy at all! In fact DH said that the filling melded w/ the tortillas extremely well and this is the recipe he wants me to always use! And believe me I sure will! I can't wait for supper tonight to eat some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
Tasty dish. I omitted the chopped tomato and baked the enchiladas sauceless for the first ten minutes to help with the sogginess problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
I baked it covered, and it turned out a bit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
My son says 5 Stars all the way mom! He was surfing AR and found this and asked me to make it. I was leary of all the tomatos, but it's excellent. He is on his second plate right now. I did half the recipe. I ended up with 5 stuffed 10 inch tortillas. I used a "full" recipe of sauce, so I recommend if you are doing a full recipe to double the sauce and make sure you cook it down so the flavors meld. I would add some more cheese if you do the "full" recipe. I used the Rotel diced tomato/green chilis, lots more flavor.. also make sure you "drain" them, I am sure that is why some are ending up with soaky/watery. I forgot to add that I cooked my chicken breast in skillet with cilantro flavored oil, after I flipped to second side to brown I then added some water to the skillet put a lid on and turned down to med and steamed it the rest of the way. This chicken came out so moist and easy to shred for the recipe. Don't skip the olives and if you don't like your onion with a little crunch, then saute before hand. Excellent!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
This is our new favorite enchilada recipe! I didn't use the fresh tomato but subbed canned for it. I didn't find it too tomato-ey for my family the way some others did, but maybe we just like tomatoes. I didn't cook the sauce, I just mixed it and spooned it over the top. Then we covered it with foil and baked it the next day. Perfect. I'm making it again next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
this is excellent! i used a pressure cooker for the chicken (35 min) added adobo and it shreds with a fork. next time I either wont add the onions only because they stayed crunchy or ill precook them. Also, I added more salsa to keep it moist. great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Very tasty dish. Only thing I would change is the prep time. Notice recipe ingredients say cooked chicken, so factor in the time it takes cook chicken. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States