Tomato Enchilada Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Very good!! I've used this recipe since 2002. My boyfriend doesn't like sour cream, so I made it without it last time, and it was still pretty good (the mixture was just not as thick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I had been looking for a red sauce enchilada recipe and this one is great! I added some shredded cheese to the filling and sauteed the onions with some garlic in butter before adding it to the filling. This was great! I would maybe add a little bit more chili powder to the sauce next time (my husband said it was too much like straight tomato sauce). Otherwise very good! Re-heated in oven well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I changed the recipe a bit so I could use what I had on hand. I used a can of Italian tomatoes, and I think this probably made it sweeter. I also used a drained can of chopped petite tomatoes in place of a fresh tomato (I will try using a real tomato next time.). I sauteed the onion and a clove of garlic with my chopped chicken. I also used light sour cream, and I added a drained 4oz. can of chiles, not that it added much kick (maybe I'll try Rotel next time?). I didn't have any green onions or olives. I love cheese, so I had to add a whole lot more on top (and a little in the filling). I ended up laying the tortillas out on the bottom, pouring the soupy chicken mixture over, and then adding the rest of the tortillas on top, before adding the sauce (for which I used a 6oz. can of tomato sauce and 1 cup salsa), and finally the cheese (12 oz.?). It was tasty, and I'll make it again, trying a few more tweaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Pretty good. I think next time I'll roll them up like regular enchiladas and put it in an 8X8 dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Excellant! It made my husband say, "This makes me love you again!" LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
We like this. I added the onion to the sauce pan when I cooked the meat, which I used ground beef instead of chicken. Thanks. My 3 yr old just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I liked the sauce a lot but didn't care for the actual enchilada. I thought the tomatoes were overpowering and that there was not a lot of other flavor. The sauce on top was really good though so I will be using that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAMommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
With all the five star reviews, I expected something more. It was very bland. This was definitely missing something. It didn't have enough cheese for my family's tastes, and the enchiladas were soupy. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
We loved this recipe! Made a few changes...added seasoning to chicken, and canned tomatoes had cilantro and peppers in it. I also drained some of the juice before mixing it and it wasn't soggy at all. Oh, and I used Enchalada sauce instead of tomato sauce. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I made this lowering the fat and calories. I omitted the sour cream and used low fat cottage cheese blended in the food processor w/ 2 Tbsp of chili powder (we like it spicy). I added 1/2 a drained can of Rotel, reserving the juice and the other 1/2 for the sauce. I forgot to add the fresh tomato in there, but I added 2 in the sauce. I forgot other spices, plus I added another Tbsp of chili powder to the sauce. I used whole wheat tortillas, topped w/ low fat monteray jack (but not a whole lot) during the last 10 minutes in the oven. No black olives...we don't like them and they are too salty. I served this w/ fat free black refried beans and steamed broccoli topped w/ salsa. This wasn't tex-mex like I'm used to, but it was a healthy fix to my mexican food craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchilada Bake

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy beef enchilada casserole.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States