Tomato Enchilada Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Hubby and I LOVED this recipe! I used Rotel's Mexican Tomatoes (included lemon and cilantro), drained in place of the diced tomatoes. I think next time I'll leave the sour cream on the side, but that's just my personal preference, I really don't like sour cream. This will be on regular rotation at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIE778

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I thought, as many others here, that this was a good launching point for some more complexly flavored enchiladas. In the filling, I added black beans, frozen corn from my garden, 1-2 tsp. cumin, 3-4 tsp. chili powder, and another couple handfuls of shredded cheddar cheese. For the sauce, I used 1/2 jar of hot green chile sauce (El Pinto) and 1/2 jar of homemade salsa. I spread a little of this sauce on the bottom of the pans before I put the enchiladas in. Baked them covered for 35 mins at 400, then 10 mins more uncovered at 350. Sprinkled with cilantro to make them taste fresher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
We love this recipe. Instead of folding the tortillas into enchiladas, I layer them lasagna style. I use canned diced tomatoes for the filling and store bought canned enchilada sauce for the top. I combine all the spices, most of the cheese, and the chicken to the filling. I lay down a layer of tortillas, put down some filling, and continue layering until I finish the tortillas. I pour the enchilada sauce on the top and move around the tortillas to ensure some of it makes it way down the layers. I finish it all off with a final layer of cheese and bake. Be aware, if using corn tortillas, you need to up the liquid content of the sauce, as they will absorb all the liquid and leave the filling dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Very easy and a delicious combo. It does take some time and some dishes, but it is worth it. I made a half batch--there's only two of us. I also subbed ground turkey for the chicken. I made the turkey the night before and then assembled the enchiladas and made the sauce today. It would be easy to make the sauce ahead of time, as well. I couldn't find olives, so just topped with cheese. I missed the olives but bf didn't (he hates them). I added a bit more salsa to the sauce and it was a perfect amount. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Sorry to say, my family didn't like this one. We prefer the white cream sauce chicken enchiladas over this one. Need to also make sure to season the chicken. I boiled a whole chicken for this one, but didn't season it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Great recipe (even despite all my substitutions)! Most important change: I used a whole 15 oz can of tomato sauce. 6 oz wouldn't have been enough. I had no sour cream and no green onions. Didn't miss the onions. For sour cream, I mixed (based on internet search): 1/4 cup powdered lowfat milk, 1/2 cup cold water, 3/4 cup cottage cheese, 2 Tbsp lemon juice, 1/4 tsp salt. I tasted that concoction and it was quite bad, tasting like 10-yr-old powdered milk. But I didn't tell my boyfriend that, just put it in anyway because I don't like to waste things! We also used a combination of flour tortillas, crispy taco shells, and tortilla chips (kind of an experiment), and determined that it could be easily made into a casserole if in a hurry, ingredients layered. The end result was delicious! It did not suffer one bit for the substitution/lack of sour cream. Really easy too! I've never made enchiladas but won't hesitate to use this same recipe with other meats. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
My son says 5 Stars all the way mom! He was surfing AR and found this and asked me to make it. I was leary of all the tomatos, but it's excellent. He is on his second plate right now. I did half the recipe. I ended up with 5 stuffed 10 inch tortillas. I used a "full" recipe of sauce, so I recommend if you are doing a full recipe to double the sauce and make sure you cook it down so the flavors meld. I would add some more cheese if you do the "full" recipe. I used the Rotel diced tomato/green chilis, lots more flavor.. also make sure you "drain" them, I am sure that is why some are ending up with soaky/watery. I forgot to add that I cooked my chicken breast in skillet with cilantro flavored oil, after I flipped to second side to brown I then added some water to the skillet put a lid on and turned down to med and steamed it the rest of the way. This chicken came out so moist and easy to shred for the recipe. Don't skip the olives and if you don't like your onion with a little crunch, then saute before hand. Excellent!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
DELICIOUS! I halfed the recipe and added 1/2 can of drained black beans for flavor/color to the chicken mixture. Also, I did not have green onions but added a can of drained chopped green chilies instead. Made enough for 6 enchiladas. Will definitely be making again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayViolet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weehawken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This is a very good recipe I have been using for quite a long time by now. It is true that it sometimes turns a bit soaky but it is still very good tasting and my husband loves it. I also add beans to it, always. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This is an odd recipe. It is eatable but doesn't taste like enchiladas. The tomato taste is overpowering and there is hardly any cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States