Tomato Enchilada Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This is a good base recipe, but needs a little tinkering, I think. It was pretty easy to make and certainly tasted fine, but was fairly bland. When I make it again, I will experiment with the seasonings to see if I can kick it up a notch! Still, a good, solid easy recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
My husband loves this recipe and asks for it a lot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This recipe is delicious! Although I have to modify for some people in my family (some don't like tomatoes or onion), I use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I turned this recipe into a vegetarian dish by using morning star crumbles and black beans as the filling. Garlic and onion powder helped make this recipe more tasty and I used a can of the Rotelle diced tomatoes with green chilies to give it a little kick. Great recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This was delicious! I have been looking and looking for a red sauce type enchilada because the one I was making used Cream of Chicken Soup and it just wasn't very Mexicany. After reading other reviews I made a few minor changes. I didn't have green onions, but I sauted some regular onion in some butter and added it to the mixture instead. I also added Cumin and garlic pepper to both the filling and the sauce. I also added a little bit of cheese in the filling and used a mexican blend cheese on top. It made a whole lot of filling and I was able to use 8 tortillas instead of 6 and probably could have used the whole 10 even. I did double the sauce which I was glad I did because it wouldn't have been enough if I didn't. I did't use any olives because I didn't have any and I can't stand them anyway. I did drain my can of tomatoes and the enchiladas weren't soggy at all! In fact DH said that the filling melded w/ the tortillas extremely well and this is the recipe he wants me to always use! And believe me I sure will! I can't wait for supper tonight to eat some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
So I brought this recipie to the church potluck. One guy was complaining to me that "he doesn't like to try anything new" and that this dish looked suspicious (because of the olives on top). His wife browbeat him into trying it... and he RAVED about it and even went back for seconds! This is a great recipe; I really liked it. I cooked the chicken in the crock pot all day while I was at work (just 3 frozen split chicken breasts and a cup of water) to avoid having to cook them at night, and then shredded the meat. Came out great! I also used mild salsa, because we don't like things too spicy. I'm definitely adding this to my rotation at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Very tasty. I used whole wheat tortillas and low fat sour cream and thought that it still tasted great. I made my own Enchilada Sauce (from this site) and served it with black beans and rice. Husband and 18 month old daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This was awesome! I miscalculated and had too much chicken mixture and took a phone call, so my salsa mixture cooked way, way down. I combined the mixtures and spread that over the top. I also didn't have the green onions, so I just chopped up a medium sized onion. I loved this--definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
My kids said "Daddy this is a do over". I stuck to the basic recipe with a few adjustments. Firstly, I used salsa in the mixture instead of making my own. Also, I added cumin and garlic salt to the mixture. Secondly, instead of individually stuffed tortillas, I layered it like lasagna, one layer of tortillas then the mixture, then another layer of tortillas. Lastly, upon previous reccomendations, I doubled the topping ingredients and added the cheese with 10 minutes left in the oven. Definitely a do over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Read

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I use this recipe all the time! It is a good starter. I changed it some. Like adding cumin and garlic to both the sauce and the mixture. And adding more teaspoons of the other spices. I also never use flour tortillas. Corn is much better. Cheese in the mixture is also really good!! And I shred the chicken to absorb more spices. A lot of work but worth it in the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States