Tomato Dill Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
A great transition from the warm weather pairing of tomato and basil. Fresh dill at the end, along with a healthy grind of black pepper punctuates the overall flavor very well. Another trick is to add 1 oz. of vodka (80 proof is usually fine) at the same time as the tomatoes, allowing the alcohol to evaporate while cooking. The peppery quality of the spirit complements the sweetness of the tomato and brightness of the dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very good soup.... The only thing I changed was that I added fresh dill to the pot instead of dried dill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
OMG! This is fabulous! Followed the recipe exactly with the exception of not blending the soup after it was cooked. Really fresh tasting (even using canned tomatoes). A great soup for a light lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I made this recipe as written except for two things. 1) I didn't have bay leaf, so I skipped that. 2) I only let it simmer for about 20 minutes before pureeing it because it smelled good and I was hungry. 20 minutes seemed perfectly sufficient. I served this with a dollop of sour cream as another reviewer recommended, and some crackers. So easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Was very good but needed more dill I used fresh tomatoes I think they had to much acid and killed the dill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Okay, but we didn't care for the dill. I want to try this again with a few changes like fresh tomatoes and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Very good soup - and very easy. We used tomatoes from the garden - picked green(because it was going to freeze) and ripened in the garage. As another reviewer said, they are probably not any better than good canned tomatoes but we needed to use them. Wanted to freeze some as another reviewer recommended but there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I truly did not expect to like this. I am not in general a tomato fan. But I have to say I loved it! I used home canned tomatoes and added fresh dill and a pinch of red pepper flakes. I too was tempted to add some sort of cream but once it cooks down and you use the immersion blender on it, it becomes creamy! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
On my Fall Soup Lineup 2012! Fresh and yummy. Used fresh dill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dobermanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I love this soup and I am not a fan of regular tomato soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States