Tomato Dill Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
Historic, when served cold with sour cream......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
I liked the soup hot and I will have to try it cold the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISSAMUEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Fantastic soup! Have only had it cold so far. Wonderful body, good tomato flavor, with just enough dill to add another dimension. The only reason I down-rated this recipe was because it called for canned tomatoes...imagine how good it would taste with red summer-ripe tomatoes! (However, maybe the more concentrated taste of the canned ones actually work better!) I ended up substituting two large fresh tomatoes for one of the cans of broth. A colleague commented on how good the soup smelled...unusual for a cold souop to be so aromatic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
I served this soup chilled with a dollop of fat free sour cream and some a few fresh dill sprigs on top. Very tasty but just a little too salty for my taste as I don't use much salt. I even used fat free chicken broth with 40%less sodium. Also used margarine rather than butter. Like the addition of the dill and garlic. Robust but smooth. My husband ate two helpings. Great for a summer starter on the patio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
This was an easy recipe to make and delicious! My whole family enjoyed it as a cold soup to start our meal. I used fresh dill from my garden and it was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Very good. Very tasty. Easy to prepare. This recipe could become a classic quick fix for guests on the way over for a visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
This soup is so delicious! Easy to make and very good cold or hot. I have made it several times and each time I have received 'mmm mmm good' raves! Zales right...you'll want to double the recipe each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
This soup is fantastic; I have made it many times and have passed along this recipe to many friends, who also rave about this simple-to-make soup. I make triple batches of this soup in a slow cooker and freeze individual servings. This soup does freeze well and it's a real treat to have on a cold day. Fresh-tasting and hearty, this soup makes a terrific low fat and nutritious meal with some whole wheat crackers or warm crusty bread. I have found that using butter, instead of margarine, brings the soup to a new dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GVIGUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springvale, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I made this several days ago to get rid of some overripe tomatoes. Just now have gotten around to tasting it. Good. It is not wowing me like the other reviewers but maybe it is because I do not like tomato soup in general. Thought this lended itself to being a cold soup since this is July.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I loved this soup. Forgot to take out the bay leaf before blending it (oops). So besides the little pieces of bay leaf, I thought the texture and flavor were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States