Tomato Dill Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made this back in May and forgot to review it. This was very good and I still have some leftover in the freezer. I used fresh dill and regular diced tomatoes, rather than peeled. I used my emersion blender and pureed this right in the pan. Couldn't have been easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Right up until the last minute I was tempted to add some cream or half-and-half to this for creaminess and extra richness. I resisted the urge and was rewarded with a bold, tomato soup that for some reason was creamy without it. I used tomatoes I had put up from my garden rather than canned (which doesn't necessarily make this any better if you use a good quality canned tomato), fresh dill rather than dried and no bay leaf. The dill flavor was not noticeable but this was delicious nonetheless. Hubs said it was reminiscent of a soup he really enjoys at the Purple Cafe and Wine Bar in downtown Seattle, high praise indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This was edible but too tomato-ey. I won't make it a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
AMAZING! Has a thick creamy consistency without any added cream (or calories). I doubled the dill. Will have this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I adapted this for a friend on a fat-free liquid diet. I didnt add the sauted onions but put in a bit of both garlic powder and onion powder. I used fat-free broth diluted a bit, pureed with a hand blender then strained it to make it clear. Not only did it meet his dietary restrictions, it was delicious! He called me asking for the recipe because his wife was eating all "his" soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I found this recipe a couple weeks ago and I've already made it twice. It is amazingly good. There is a restaurant in town here that serves tomato dill soup that everyone raves about....well, this recipe is better. It's also a very inexpensive and satisfying meal with some fresh bread or a bagel. I leave the bay leaf out because, to me, it overpowers the dill and garlic flavors. Oh, and I double the garlic, and instead of the full can of chicken broth, I do a half can and a half can of whole milk...............CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saracowherd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I really, really like this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was a wonderful rich soup, I gave it 5 stars as it could stand on its own as it is written, but like so many other people I had to modify it, I added 1/4 cup of condensed milk and bumped the dill 1/4 teaspoon. I also added 1/4 roasted red peppers at the end. Chopped. This is a great tomato soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Winfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Awesome! I did make some alterations, though. This reminds me of a soup I used to get at a vegetarian Vietnamese restaurant in Louisville, KY and I have been searching for a similar recipe for years! I sliced the onion in thin rings and did not puree the soup-I prefer a thin broth with chunky tomato and onion pieces. Soooo gooood!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprilrose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was great. I took the advice of some other reviewers and added a little half and half to make it creamy. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States