Tomato Dill Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Was very good but needed more dill I used fresh tomatoes I think they had to much acid and killed the dill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Okay, but we didn't care for the dill. I want to try this again with a few changes like fresh tomatoes and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Very good soup - and very easy. We used tomatoes from the garden - picked green(because it was going to freeze) and ripened in the garage. As another reviewer said, they are probably not any better than good canned tomatoes but we needed to use them. Wanted to freeze some as another reviewer recommended but there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I truly did not expect to like this. I am not in general a tomato fan. But I have to say I loved it! I used home canned tomatoes and added fresh dill and a pinch of red pepper flakes. I too was tempted to add some sort of cream but once it cooks down and you use the immersion blender on it, it becomes creamy! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
On my Fall Soup Lineup 2012! Fresh and yummy. Used fresh dill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dobermanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I love this soup and I am not a fan of regular tomato soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
An excellent recipe! The original recipe is very good. I make three changes which, in my opinion, makes it even better. I use a tablespoon of dill weed, "no salt added" tomatoes, and add 2 tablespoons of cream after blending the soup. Also, I suggest using an immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Yummy! A great recipe for some end-of-summer local tomatoes! I looove dill, so that was a delicious addition for me. I wasn't really sure about the "condensed" chicken broth, so I used regular...between that and the fact I didn't measure, I ended up with a soup that was slightly more watery than I would like, but it's still so tasty I don't really care. A little dollop of sour cream will add a nice touch of richness and tang that we like with our soup, so we're looking forward to a delicious soup with homemade bread for lunch tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was great! I used fresh tomatoes, vegetable broth, and a cup of yummy homegrown basil as well. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDelinquentFairy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is a terrific soup. The only thing I changed was tossing sour cream in at the tail end. So I made the soup, then on a per-bowl basis put the sour cream in. This way it keeps better. I also simmered it for a lot longer on very low, and more than doubled the amount of dill weed and garlic. It all depends on your taste. The first time I used Rotel chilis which resulted in a somewhat runny soup even after sour cream, so I had to corn starch the thing. The second time I used decent quality cans of diced tomatos and then blended it before starting to simmer. The result was an incredibly good, creamy tomato soup which my family absolutely loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States