Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I made this recipe pretty much as-is, and it was better than I expected. I agree that it's probably better as a base to customize to your tastes, but even as-written I thought it was flavorful and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
A person will notice that a large number of comments also use this as a base, and then modify it with something like carrots. That is the correct way to look at this recipe. It gave me new ideas and I look forward to trying out new soup recipes based on this one, but this recipe alone wasn't that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Delicious- I followed the recipe exactly, except for using bell pepper instead of celery. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
It is a great base, but definately missing something. Fast and easy to work to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I wasn't expecting too much, since there's not a lot of spices in this dish, but this turned out really tasty. On the other hand I was expecting it to have a curry flavor, which it did not. Next time I make this I will be quadrupling the curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This was very easy and very yummy. I used plain petite diced tomatoes because I had them on hand and it was missing something so I just added extra seasoning. I used vegetable broth instead of water. I made this for my 13 year old who recently decided she's vegetarian and it was tastier than the Irish beef stew I made for the rest of the family! We'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very easy, quite tasty. Unseasoned, the stew is somewhat bland; more tomatos and onions might help. I used 5 cloves garlic which was good without being overpowering. I also used about double the curry, which worked well. Along with a healthy dose of salt and pepper, the stew flavored right up. Next time I would definitely use vegetable broth instead of water, more tomatos, and a little lime juice at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
A good hearty stew. Easy to alter ingredients to your tastes. Very garlicky (mmmmm)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I made this as is, except I separated some into its own pan to make without the curry for my toddler aged children. Even they ate every bite! I made pita bread chips and sprinkled some feta cheese and olive oil over it and it was amazing. Next time I will add some sweet potato and other veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This recipe was great - so easy and delicious. Brought it to a party and so many people asked for the recipe. I multiplied the recipe by 5, and here are my modifications: I used vegetable broth instead of water and approx 1/2 stalk of celery and 1/2 large carrot per 1/2 cup dry lentils. I also used probably 1-2 cloves garlic per 1/2 cup lentils instead of 3 cloves. I used canned crushed tomatoes instead of stewed, and it was great. At the end of cooking time, add a splash of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States