Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I loved this! The only minor change I made was using pureed tomatoes instead of stewed. Very quick and simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
For the ingredients this recipe lists i can only give a 3 star rating. I love both lentils and curry and this dish is terribly bland. Trying it a second time, I modified it after reading suggestions by other users. I added carrots and sauted it with the garlic, onion, and celery and added the lentils later. I doubled the curry powder and added yellow curry paste ( that's what I had on hand) as well as a bit of corriander. I substituted the water with broth and used 2 large fresh vine tomatoes chopped instead the canned. At the end, i added fresh curly leaf parsley to it and some pepper. It also can use a splash of lemon juice or vinegar. Chickpeas would work great with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
i love this! i added some extra tomatoes and chickpeas and sweet potato using comments from other reviews. so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was so tasty and QUICK! Added red peppers, zucchini in place of celery and it was still DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissad738

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This is delicious, quick, and easy! I added extra curry and a bit of dried basil. I also used an entire can of tomatoes. It came out delicious, especially for such a simple and easy recipe with so few ingredients. Can't wait 'til tomorrow for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
4.5 stars, actually. This was good! Two slight variations for me: I used a full teaspoon of curry (I know me), and added a bit of cayenne pepper (thanks to another reviewer's suggestion -- yum!). This recipe calls for too little water; even after adding 1/2 c. during the cooking process, I ended up with a dish that isn't anything close to a stew. Next time, I'll start with more water so I can end up with a soup/stew. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I make this all the time for me and my 5 children. We all love it! I scale the recipe for 8 servings, because I love having leftovers for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This recipe is delicious. I substituted in pepper for the celery as someone suggested. It does make a rather small amount, as the description suggests so be aware and adjust as necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I love this soup! We eat it with corn bread on gloomy days. Makes me look forward to rainy, overcast weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
if your guest is not a big fan of lentils add more tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States