Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great recipe! Definitely double, if not triple this recipe. Also, I had to simmer it for more then an hour for the right lentil tenderness. I used chili sauce instead of tomates and it was very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was so good. I added some extra curry powder, carrots and potatoes like others said. It went to a church dinner and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great soup base! I will definitely try it with potatoes. I liked that there was no oil involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I gave this 4 stars because shockingly, my family that vehemently dislikes anything remotely healthy, actually really like this recipe. I thought it was just okay. It did take a bit of added seasoning (a lot more curry, garlic powder, onion powder and a lot more salt than I thought it would need). I would've rated it far lower but the family liked it. Makes a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was wonderful! I replaced the celery with a can of corn, and I also increased the onion. I didn't exactly measure the curry; I just added to taste. The other change was that I used a stick blender to make it a lot smoother. It got rave reviews from everyone who ate it! Cheap, healthy, fast, and delicious. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Thank you for a great recipe. I added some other veggies to this, and used chicken stock instead of water, but the basic recipe is wonderful. I made this for dinner tonight and my husband loved it. I made enough so he could take some to work tomorrow. I served it with whole wheat rolls. He is one of those fellas that thinks you have to have meat at dinner. Well, he had two bowls and then I told him there was no meat in it. He just smiled and said this is a wonderful meal. This dish is a keeper. Will put it into our regular rotation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2cook500

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
OH MY GOSH - So good!! Granted, I made many changes based on other reviewers' suggestions. First, I upped the amount of lentils and added a handful of quinoa (very healthy). In a separate pan I sauteed 2 celery sticks and a big carrot with a whole onion until fairly tender. I then added about 6 cloves of minced garlic, sauteed further, and added all of this to the boiling lentil-quinoa mixture with a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes. I let this simmer for the time suggested, and added 1 full tsp. curry powder, a 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, as well as salt and pepper. It is amazing, even without chicken stock! Vegan-friendy and super-healthy. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
For lentil lovers, a VERY delicious stew! There was a lot of flavor, something often lacking in lentil dishes. I tripled the recipe to feed my family. Used diced tomatoes in puree, added a diced potato & much more curry (we like spice!). I didn't see the part about adding the spices until the last 15 minutes until after I had already added everything to the lentils. It's still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Really enjoyed it. Made it as written but had to add more curry powder to fit my tastes. Keep an eye on this, I had to add a lot more liquid as it cooked. Very good, healthy, and filling! I think a variety of veggies would work in this dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
The lentils were much too mushy for me. The taste was not bad. I used 2 fresh tomatoes, but I wished I added more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States