Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was absolutely delish! I substituded vegetable broth for water, added carrots, and a LOT more curry than the recipe called for. I served it with a dollop of plain yogurt on top, and pita bread. It was a big hit, and was even better the next day! Definitely making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I made this recipe with a couple of changes. I doubled it, added one can of beef stock (instead of water), and upped the curry powder to 1 tablespoon. It needed to simmer about 1 hr 20 min to cook the lentils, and I had to add water as the lentils cooked and absorbed some of the liquid. The end result was quite thick and tasty. I think you could substitute or add other veggies if that interests you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
We really enjoyed this. I doubled the amounts and put it over brown rice. I didn't have celery so I chopped a carrot and put it in. I also did more onion and curry, to our taste, along with a can of diced tomatoes. We'll make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Oh, my goodness! This soup is incredibly satisfying and filling. I followed the recipe for the most part, but had a 15 oz can of stewed tomatoes. It came out perfect. I will absolutely make this one again! Great cooking, Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Did not love the flavor. Very average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
YUMM. i was afraid the recipe had too much garlic, but nope, t'was delicious. (i omited celery b/c i'm not a fan). i put some grilled chicken on top for my boyfriend and it was a full meal for him. i will be making this again -- so deelish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I loved this recipe and so did my husband! I replaced the water with stock, added coconut milk, and poured it over cinnamon infused rice. Mmmm, perfect for a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxMolotov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was really good the next day. I feel like the flavors all meshed together and it was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Marrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Have made this several times and my husband and I love it. The recipe is great as is but I made a few changes for our taste. I cook the garlic and onions in olive oil before adding it and it really seems to bring out more flavor. I also use chicken broth instead of water and omit the celery because I rarely have it on hand. Sometimes I add chopped cooked carrots and/or cooked potatoes. I serve it with homemade wheat bread and it is such a huge treat on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This turned out great! We added pureed cherry tomatoes and shredded carrots because they were on hand and needed to be used. I agree with another reviewer that there isn't enough curry; I tripled the recipe and put in 3 tsp but I will probably do more next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States