Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Absolutely DELICIOUS starting recipe. I doubled the recipe and added half a cup of water, a potato, two carrots, red pepper, a cube of chicken bouillon, and half a granny smith apple. I let mine simmer for an hour which made it creamy in texture. Don't be shy with the seasonings either. This is a versatile recipe that I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I loved this as a base for a good stew. My husband is a vegetarian so I am always looking for a good meatless main dish. I added four large potatos and tripled the curry powder. We love spices so I always add more than called for. But with more curry powder it gave more of an Indian flair. Great with a big chunk of crusty bread. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
VERY tasty. Good Stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lord Burghley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe! I tripled it and added a few additional ingredients based on other reviews - 1/2 can (4 oz.) of coconut milk (at end) 1 can (8 oz.) of chick peas 1 can (8 oz.) of tomato paste 1 sweet potato I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Yummy! This was really simple to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babydoll

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I don't understand why this got such great reviews. As the recipe is written, it has absolutely no flavor. You've got to add A LOT to make it tasty, thereby making it a totally different recipe. Thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is a great base recipe. My changes were I tripled the recipe, using 3 cups of chicken broth instead of water, 14.5 oz. can of stewed tomatoes, 1 tsp of curry powder (all I had or I might have put in a little more), 1 to 1-1/2 cups of dry lentils, and probably a tablespoon (maybe more) or so of minced garlic (jarred). I didn't have any celery, but I had just come back from the farmers market so threw in a bit of everything I had gotten - some chopped fresh carrots, a whole sweet onion chopped, green beans, and fingerling potatoes. With all of the extras it had to cook a little longer, and I added a little more chicken broth part-way through. My changes were mostly just throwing in extra veggies so I'm giving the base recipe 5 stars because this was delish! I think this might also be good with some cubed squash thrown in. It's great to find a base recipe that you can really make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I love your recipie! I make it for the PTA all the time. Thank you....and thanks for all the rants and raves I should be passing to you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irisheyes1972

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Awesome with potatos, bell pepper, chicken stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PunchDrunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was fantastic! I added some Paprika, cayenne to spice it up and cummin powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imedlen

Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States