Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This stew was good but it was a little mild for my taste so I added some curry paste to spice things up and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Very, easy and yummy. I add diced sweet potato for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I made this for dinner and everyone liked it, ages 6-38. It is hearty, rich, and the taste was very good. I did use broth instead of water for the lentils. I think the celery adds a really nice flavor to the tomoato sauce. And, I could see using Herbs de Provence instead of curry, if that suits you. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Yum! I really liked this recipe and will make it again for sure. I used chicken stock in place of water as suggested by one poster and added sweet potato and cumin as well as curry. I also added about 2 teaspoons of Clubhouse Tex Mex spice which gave it a nice flavour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
We loved this recipe. I did make a few changes: added carrots, potatoes and cayenne pepper. Also, instead of water, I used chicken broth and upped the amount. I didn't have stewed tomoatoes so I used 1 can crushed and 1 can diced because I had them on hand. I upped the curry and the garlic and onion. We served it with red wine and crusty french bread. I will definitely make this again and might add escarole at the end next time. Thank you very much for posting this healthy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I ended up adding another can of tomatoes to make it a little thicker (I whizzed it up with a hand blender first), and I used homemade veggie broth too. I enjoyed this. Thanks, Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I followed other reviews and used chicken broth and fresh tomatos, and we absolutely loved this dish! Next time we will add some chicken or sausage for a more complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
this stew tasted great, but not of curry. it wasn't any more different then other tomato soups and stews i've made before. nothing special. sorry for the not as great review, but i guess i was just expecting something different. it's a very healthy and good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Great foundations for a lentil stew. I made a few changes/additions based on other reviews and my personal taste and this turned out great. My flatmates all loved it too and asked me for the recipe. But I agree that lentil lovers will like this best, like myself. I cooked the lentils in chicken stock, along with chickpeas and sweet potato. I then also used red curry paste with coconut milk and 2 tablespoons of sour cream to get a really creamy stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This was great! Try adding Italian sausage for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States