Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Haven't tried this recipe yet. I'm just SO THRILLED that the onion is listed as an amount (I.e., 1/4 cup) instead of something like half a small onion that basically means to add whatever you feel like today. Not, necessarily, that I'm not going to toss in whatever looks right, but I do appreciate precision in communication! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Really good. I did double up on the spices though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ivanhoe, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
After reading the reviews, I knew to to anticipate a bland recipe, so I made a few adjustments for a delicious stew. First, I doubled the amount of curry powder and replaced the water with vegetable soup stock. Delicious! Don't be afraid to add curry powder to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Very Good hearty stew... added cooked Chicken for extra protein! I made the whole pound bag of lentils and used chicken stock instead of water. Green peppers instead of celery and added Carrots! So good. I also used a small can of seasoned tomato sauce, and a little bit more of everything, since I made it with more lentils. I served it with biscuits. Yumm, very filling, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
It was pretty tasty, though needed a lot of pepper and extra curry powder in order to accommodate my taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe, quick prep! I added carrots for more color, and extra curry and garlic. Also, when adding the stewed tomatoes I poured in the whole can rather than add extra water. Great for a rainy day with a toasted piece of ww sourdough bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa-henry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
was pretty good. next time I will add a few more veggies. I made the lentils with chicken stock, so that was good! I also used way more curry powder than suggested (about a T for double the recipe) and could have used more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
It is very bland. I tripled up the curry powder and added more black pepper. I agree with someone else who said it would have better to saute the onions, garlic and celery first. Carrots would be a nice touch. I also used vegetable broth instead of water for more flavor. I also would add the tomatoes toward the end as most recipes do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I substituted bell pepper stews for the celery just because that's what I happened to have. I am sure all kinds of variations are wonderful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tkay77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This recipe did not turn out well for me at all. I tried to scale it up for 12, at which point it calls for 18 cloves of garlic. That seemed outrageous, but I trusted and tried anyway. Alas, it was as garlic-y and disgusting as it seemed while I was making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States