Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
This is a retaurant-quality soup. I have made this in very large quantities three or for times in the past two months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
Okay, I have varied this recipe several times, and all of them came out super. First, I always omit celery and substitute bell pepper. I use veg or chicken stock instead of water, and use fresh tomatoes. My favorite variation is to add a little half and half at the very last minute(do not let it fully cook), just enough to make a thick, creamy soup. I have made this for friends and family, and is a hit every time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surlysunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This was yum yum yummy! I tripled this recipe and then put in a little less garlic. (more like 6-7 cloves). Also, I added 1/2 cup coconut milk, a dollop or two of sour cream, and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper for extra zing. My man loved it and we had enough for lunches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
I read the other reviews and took tips from each of them. I added 1 chicken breast (boiled) cut into small pieces, along with some sour cream. It was wonderful. I have never been good at making soup, but this was easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Tasted great! I added potatos as well, and extra tomatoes and curry powder. Next time I am going to try adding carrot as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
super tasty ,super cheap .. thanks to Robin Oswald who sent it , i made use of the reviews & added carrot & potato try it ! hard to regret
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
My husband and I LOVE this recipe - it is especially good with thai curry hot sauce (sold in the supermarket) over it. We cook it at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
This was great with the addition of chopped potatoes. We turned the leftovers into burritos with rice inside flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELIRIOUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This is a simple, but very flavorful recipe. I substituted garam masala for the curry and it came out great. I will definitely make it again. Probably tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I followed other reviews and used chicken broth and fresh tomatos, and we absolutely loved this dish! Next time we will add some chicken or sausage for a more complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States