Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
Okay, I have varied this recipe several times, and all of them came out super. First, I always omit celery and substitute bell pepper. I use veg or chicken stock instead of water, and use fresh tomatoes. My favorite variation is to add a little half and half at the very last minute(do not let it fully cook), just enough to make a thick, creamy soup. I have made this for friends and family, and is a hit every time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surlysunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Made this today- with a lot of changes- and it's fantastic. I guess it's almost a different recipe, but I felt I should leave my changes here in case anyone wants to try what I did. I omitted the celery and added a chopped carrot and a chopped yukon gold potato. Then I added a half of a cup of vegetable broth, 1/3 cup brown rice, and quadrupled the curry powder (no one ever uses enough! a full tsp is perfect). It is excellent over homemade wheat bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
This is the only main dish I've gotten from this site that has actually worked out to be worth the effort. Maybe next time I'll try it with fresh tomatoes. The similarity to my mom's potroast stew (before I became a vegetarian) makes me think that potatoes and/or carrots would make a tasty addition. My dad put his stew over brown rice, but I didn't like the idea-- I think it is better over a piece of whole wheat bread or toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This was yum yum yummy! I tripled this recipe and then put in a little less garlic. (more like 6-7 cloves). Also, I added 1/2 cup coconut milk, a dollop or two of sour cream, and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper for extra zing. My man loved it and we had enough for lunches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Great foundations for a lentil stew. I made a few changes/additions based on other reviews and my personal taste and this turned out great. My flatmates all loved it too and asked me for the recipe. But I agree that lentil lovers will like this best, like myself. I cooked the lentils in chicken stock, along with chickpeas and sweet potato. I then also used red curry paste with coconut milk and 2 tablespoons of sour cream to get a really creamy stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
This is a retaurant-quality soup. I have made this in very large quantities three or for times in the past two months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
We loved this recipe. I did make a few changes: added carrots, potatoes and cayenne pepper. Also, instead of water, I used chicken broth and upped the amount. I didn't have stewed tomoatoes so I used 1 can crushed and 1 can diced because I had them on hand. I upped the curry and the garlic and onion. We served it with red wine and crusty french bread. I will definitely make this again and might add escarole at the end next time. Thank you very much for posting this healthy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This soup was pretty good although it seemed like it was missing something. I added a little dried basil and sprinkled grated parmesean cheese on top which helped. I think it would be better made with chicken or vegetable stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I loved this as a base for a good stew. My husband is a vegetarian so I am always looking for a good meatless main dish. I added four large potatos and tripled the curry powder. We love spices so I always add more than called for. But with more curry powder it gave more of an Indian flair. Great with a big chunk of crusty bread. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was incredible with a few alterations. I doubled the recipe, replaced the water with veggie broth, used a 14 oz can of stewed tomatoes, sliced 1 stalk of celery and 1 good sized carrot, half of an onion roughly chopped, two minced cloves of garlic, 1.5 tsp curry powder and 1/2 tsp of garam masala. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESMICHY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States