Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Very good! I, too, added more curry and other seasonings. Next time, I may carmelize the onions and saute the garlic and vegetables first. Added juice from canned tomatoes rather than water. Everything turned out fine, well cooked but not mushy. Served with a generous sprig of fresh basil on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I made this recipe pretty much as-is, and it was better than I expected. I agree that it's probably better as a base to customize to your tastes, but even as-written I thought it was flavorful and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
A person will notice that a large number of comments also use this as a base, and then modify it with something like carrots. That is the correct way to look at this recipe. It gave me new ideas and I look forward to trying out new soup recipes based on this one, but this recipe alone wasn't that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Delicious- I followed the recipe exactly, except for using bell pepper instead of celery. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
It is a great base, but definately missing something. Fast and easy to work to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I wasn't expecting too much, since there's not a lot of spices in this dish, but this turned out really tasty. On the other hand I was expecting it to have a curry flavor, which it did not. Next time I make this I will be quadrupling the curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This was very easy and very yummy. I used plain petite diced tomatoes because I had them on hand and it was missing something so I just added extra seasoning. I used vegetable broth instead of water. I made this for my 13 year old who recently decided she's vegetarian and it was tastier than the Irish beef stew I made for the rest of the family! We'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very easy, quite tasty. Unseasoned, the stew is somewhat bland; more tomatos and onions might help. I used 5 cloves garlic which was good without being overpowering. I also used about double the curry, which worked well. Along with a healthy dose of salt and pepper, the stew flavored right up. Next time I would definitely use vegetable broth instead of water, more tomatos, and a little lime juice at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
A good hearty stew. Easy to alter ingredients to your tastes. Very garlicky (mmmmm)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I made this as is, except I separated some into its own pan to make without the curry for my toddler aged children. Even they ate every bite! I made pita bread chips and sprinkled some feta cheese and olive oil over it and it was amazing. Next time I will add some sweet potato and other veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Martinez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States