Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
A good hearty stew. Easy to alter ingredients to your tastes. Very garlicky (mmmmm)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I made this as is, except I separated some into its own pan to make without the curry for my toddler aged children. Even they ate every bite! I made pita bread chips and sprinkled some feta cheese and olive oil over it and it was amazing. Next time I will add some sweet potato and other veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This recipe was great - so easy and delicious. Brought it to a party and so many people asked for the recipe. I multiplied the recipe by 5, and here are my modifications: I used vegetable broth instead of water and approx 1/2 stalk of celery and 1/2 large carrot per 1/2 cup dry lentils. I also used probably 1-2 cloves garlic per 1/2 cup lentils instead of 3 cloves. I used canned crushed tomatoes instead of stewed, and it was great. At the end of cooking time, add a splash of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was really good! I did tweak it a little after reading other reviews I added some finely chopped carrotts and used vegetable broth instead of water and fresh tomatoes. I also generously doubled the curry. Hmmmm. Love curry! This was great and even DH was impressed, this from the man who doesnt like lentils:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was an awesome soup. I added potatoes and the only tomatoes I had were "balsamic vinegar, basil and olive oil". I was a little worried it would clash with the curry powder but it turned out fabulous! I also used vegetable broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Delicious as is! You don't need to add your twist or complicate this simple recipe. Finally, something I make turns out. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I too made some changes: added a bay leaf Used chicken broth(and used more liquids) halved the celery Added 1 carrot Added 2 small potatoes Added 1 yellow squash Added some cream before serving. I was surprised by how good this turned out - it exceeded my expectations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ipss
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe... very easy to make and healthy. I think if I were to make it again I would use less celery (I am not a huge celery fan), and perhaps add some carrots and more tomatoes. I did enjoy this recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ipss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Yum! I added carrots and a sweet potato that needed to be used and both were great. I doubled the curry powder and added 1/4 tsp garam masala and 1/4 tsp coriander as well as some red pepper. Definitely needed a little spicing up! At the end, I took 1/3 of the stew and blended it in the food processor with some sour cream then added it back in. Makes for a wonderfully creamy, more soupy consistency. I think you could add just about any veggie to this easy base recipe for a yummy hearty stew...very flexible. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Pretty good stew. It could use a lil something more to make it amazing! I did omit the celery and added carrots. I would have enjoyed a bit more creamy taste....I added a 1/4 cup milk at the end, but it didn't cream up as much as I would have enjoyed. I think that next time I will add some shredded chicken or ground beef. I also think that adding some saigon cinnamon would enhance the flavors. Pretty good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States