Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I loved this! The only minor change I made was using pureed tomatoes instead of stewed. Very quick and simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
For the ingredients this recipe lists i can only give a 3 star rating. I love both lentils and curry and this dish is terribly bland. Trying it a second time, I modified it after reading suggestions by other users. I added carrots and sauted it with the garlic, onion, and celery and added the lentils later. I doubled the curry powder and added yellow curry paste ( that's what I had on hand) as well as a bit of corriander. I substituted the water with broth and used 2 large fresh vine tomatoes chopped instead the canned. At the end, i added fresh curly leaf parsley to it and some pepper. It also can use a splash of lemon juice or vinegar. Chickpeas would work great with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
i love this! i added some extra tomatoes and chickpeas and sweet potato using comments from other reviews. so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was so tasty and QUICK! Added red peppers, zucchini in place of celery and it was still DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissad738

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This is delicious, quick, and easy! I added extra curry and a bit of dried basil. I also used an entire can of tomatoes. It came out delicious, especially for such a simple and easy recipe with so few ingredients. Can't wait 'til tomorrow for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
4.5 stars, actually. This was good! Two slight variations for me: I used a full teaspoon of curry (I know me), and added a bit of cayenne pepper (thanks to another reviewer's suggestion -- yum!). This recipe calls for too little water; even after adding 1/2 c. during the cooking process, I ended up with a dish that isn't anything close to a stew. Next time, I'll start with more water so I can end up with a soup/stew. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I make this all the time for me and my 5 children. We all love it! I scale the recipe for 8 servings, because I love having leftovers for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This recipe is delicious. I substituted in pepper for the celery as someone suggested. It does make a rather small amount, as the description suggests so be aware and adjust as necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I love this soup! We eat it with corn bread on gloomy days. Makes me look forward to rainy, overcast weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
if your guest is not a big fan of lentils add more tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States