Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great recipe! Definitely double, if not triple this recipe. Also, I had to simmer it for more then an hour for the right lentil tenderness. I used chili sauce instead of tomates and it was very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was so good. I added some extra curry powder, carrots and potatoes like others said. It went to a church dinner and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great soup base! I will definitely try it with potatoes. I liked that there was no oil involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I gave this 4 stars because shockingly, my family that vehemently dislikes anything remotely healthy, actually really like this recipe. I thought it was just okay. It did take a bit of added seasoning (a lot more curry, garlic powder, onion powder and a lot more salt than I thought it would need). I would've rated it far lower but the family liked it. Makes a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was wonderful! I replaced the celery with a can of corn, and I also increased the onion. I didn't exactly measure the curry; I just added to taste. The other change was that I used a stick blender to make it a lot smoother. It got rave reviews from everyone who ate it! Cheap, healthy, fast, and delicious. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Thank you for a great recipe. I added some other veggies to this, and used chicken stock instead of water, but the basic recipe is wonderful. I made this for dinner tonight and my husband loved it. I made enough so he could take some to work tomorrow. I served it with whole wheat rolls. He is one of those fellas that thinks you have to have meat at dinner. Well, he had two bowls and then I told him there was no meat in it. He just smiled and said this is a wonderful meal. This dish is a keeper. Will put it into our regular rotation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2cook500

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
OH MY GOSH - So good!! Granted, I made many changes based on other reviewers' suggestions. First, I upped the amount of lentils and added a handful of quinoa (very healthy). In a separate pan I sauteed 2 celery sticks and a big carrot with a whole onion until fairly tender. I then added about 6 cloves of minced garlic, sauteed further, and added all of this to the boiling lentil-quinoa mixture with a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes. I let this simmer for the time suggested, and added 1 full tsp. curry powder, a 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, as well as salt and pepper. It is amazing, even without chicken stock! Vegan-friendy and super-healthy. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
For lentil lovers, a VERY delicious stew! There was a lot of flavor, something often lacking in lentil dishes. I tripled the recipe to feed my family. Used diced tomatoes in puree, added a diced potato & much more curry (we like spice!). I didn't see the part about adding the spices until the last 15 minutes until after I had already added everything to the lentils. It's still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Really enjoyed it. Made it as written but had to add more curry powder to fit my tastes. Keep an eye on this, I had to add a lot more liquid as it cooked. Very good, healthy, and filling! I think a variety of veggies would work in this dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
The lentils were much too mushy for me. The taste was not bad. I used 2 fresh tomatoes, but I wished I added more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States