Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Really liked it, followed the recipe except switched celery for red bell peppers and fresh tomatoes, not canned. gonna make again for sure, highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Just made this (with a few minor changes) and it's delicious! I used olive oil instead of butter, 1 sweet potato and about half of a large red onion. I also could only find the grey-green lentils, which look disgusting but taste great, and I doubled the amount called for and added 1/2 tesp of cayenne pepper after it was all done because I felt it needed a little kick. I only pureed part of it, mostly the sweet potatoes. Great served over brown rice! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Absolutely DELICIOUS starting recipe. I doubled the recipe and added half a cup of water, a potato, two carrots, red pepper, a cube of chicken bouillon, and half a granny smith apple. I let mine simmer for an hour which made it creamy in texture. Don't be shy with the seasonings either. This is a versatile recipe that I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I loved this as a base for a good stew. My husband is a vegetarian so I am always looking for a good meatless main dish. I added four large potatos and tripled the curry powder. We love spices so I always add more than called for. But with more curry powder it gave more of an Indian flair. Great with a big chunk of crusty bread. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
VERY tasty. Good Stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lord Burghley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe! I tripled it and added a few additional ingredients based on other reviews - 1/2 can (4 oz.) of coconut milk (at end) 1 can (8 oz.) of chick peas 1 can (8 oz.) of tomato paste 1 sweet potato I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Yummy! This was really simple to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babydoll

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I don't understand why this got such great reviews. As the recipe is written, it has absolutely no flavor. You've got to add A LOT to make it tasty, thereby making it a totally different recipe. Thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is a great base recipe. My changes were I tripled the recipe, using 3 cups of chicken broth instead of water, 14.5 oz. can of stewed tomatoes, 1 tsp of curry powder (all I had or I might have put in a little more), 1 to 1-1/2 cups of dry lentils, and probably a tablespoon (maybe more) or so of minced garlic (jarred). I didn't have any celery, but I had just come back from the farmers market so threw in a bit of everything I had gotten - some chopped fresh carrots, a whole sweet onion chopped, green beans, and fingerling potatoes. With all of the extras it had to cook a little longer, and I added a little more chicken broth part-way through. My changes were mostly just throwing in extra veggies so I'm giving the base recipe 5 stars because this was delish! I think this might also be good with some cubed squash thrown in. It's great to find a base recipe that you can really make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I love your recipie! I make it for the PTA all the time. Thank you....and thanks for all the rants and raves I should be passing to you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irisheyes1972

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States