Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I loved this as a base for a good stew. My husband is a vegetarian so I am always looking for a good meatless main dish. I added four large potatos and tripled the curry powder. We love spices so I always add more than called for. But with more curry powder it gave more of an Indian flair. Great with a big chunk of crusty bread. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
VERY tasty. Good Stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lord Burghley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe! I tripled it and added a few additional ingredients based on other reviews - 1/2 can (4 oz.) of coconut milk (at end) 1 can (8 oz.) of chick peas 1 can (8 oz.) of tomato paste 1 sweet potato I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Yummy! This was really simple to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babydoll

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I don't understand why this got such great reviews. As the recipe is written, it has absolutely no flavor. You've got to add A LOT to make it tasty, thereby making it a totally different recipe. Thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is a great base recipe. My changes were I tripled the recipe, using 3 cups of chicken broth instead of water, 14.5 oz. can of stewed tomatoes, 1 tsp of curry powder (all I had or I might have put in a little more), 1 to 1-1/2 cups of dry lentils, and probably a tablespoon (maybe more) or so of minced garlic (jarred). I didn't have any celery, but I had just come back from the farmers market so threw in a bit of everything I had gotten - some chopped fresh carrots, a whole sweet onion chopped, green beans, and fingerling potatoes. With all of the extras it had to cook a little longer, and I added a little more chicken broth part-way through. My changes were mostly just throwing in extra veggies so I'm giving the base recipe 5 stars because this was delish! I think this might also be good with some cubed squash thrown in. It's great to find a base recipe that you can really make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I love your recipie! I make it for the PTA all the time. Thank you....and thanks for all the rants and raves I should be passing to you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irisheyes1972

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Awesome with potatos, bell pepper, chicken stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PunchDrunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was fantastic! I added some Paprika, cayenne to spice it up and cummin powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imedlen
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Yummy. Used Chopped Carrots and less garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States