Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Made this today- with a lot of changes- and it's fantastic. I guess it's almost a different recipe, but I felt I should leave my changes here in case anyone wants to try what I did. I omitted the celery and added a chopped carrot and a chopped yukon gold potato. Then I added a half of a cup of vegetable broth, 1/3 cup brown rice, and quadrupled the curry powder (no one ever uses enough! a full tsp is perfect). It is excellent over homemade wheat bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This is very very easy to make and it tastes great!! thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
FINALLY! A lentil recipe that doesn't involve bell pepper. These just are not in season now, and I respect that! Don't FUBAR the recipe and then say you love it, because it then isn't the same recipe! Tastes fine as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsIrisCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Love this recipe. I made some adjustments... used sea salt and diced tomatoes, added carrots, and added andouille sausage. A family hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
awesome. the only things that i did differently is add chicken stock instead and grated carrots (which make it a little prettier), and a lot more onions(i love onions)... i also made a much larger batch and forgot how much the lentil rise. i did have to add quite a bit of water during the cooking process
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was tasty but not quite what I was expecting. I doubled the recipe and based on previous reviews, I added more curry powder. It wasn't anything special, but I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
A very healthful dish that's so quick, easy and delicious. Definitely going to become part of my regular menu rotation. I prepared it in my pressure cooker (15 minutes at pressure followed by quick release). I also took the advice of previous posters and used chicken broth. The diced sweet potato is a splendid touch! And I'm using (for a 4 serving batch) 3/4 tsp. curry powder and 1/2 tsp. salt. Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Wonderful and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletalyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Excellent vegetarian meal! Very easy to prepare. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Very nice! I added a touch more curry (we love curry in this house!) and about 1/2 cup uncooked rice. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINDSINGER

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 111-120 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States