Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
After reading other reviews I used fresh tomatoes, doubled the (hot) curry powder, substituted carrots for celery and served it over rice. Talk about comfort food! I'm glad I doubled the recipe. Might serve it with some Indian pickles tomorrow. If this sort of thing matters to you, it was easy to prepare and clean-up was a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Made this last night, more than tripled the recipe. Added chicken broth and lots of fresh tomatoes and some chopped bell pepper. Also added more curry and seasonings and stirred in some sour cream. MMMmmm Very good and so easy. I was happy I used up so many tomatoes. It's the kind of recipe you can wing it and still come out with a winner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is an excellent recipe! I doubled it and used 1 tbsp. of hot curry paste instead of powder. Also added carrots to use them up. Thank-you.....I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DGUGLIETTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Very easy, healthy and delicious. I used chicken broth instead of water and added diced baby carrots. I used a full teaspoon of curry powder but next time I'll use 2 teaspoons. I served it over brown rice. The celery stayed fairly crunchy though unfairly bringing to mind the texture of under-cooked lentils. Next time I'll saute it first. Even my meat and potatoes hubby loved it. This will be in regular rotation at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Easy, healthy & good. I used chicken broth & fresh tomatoes. I omitted the celery. It was very easy & the family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I did not like this recipe. The flavours are just not there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KarenPChappell
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I love this recipe. I did as others suggested and used chicken broth instead of water. My tomato was fresh from my garden. I added a chopped up sweet potato and used one full teaspoon of curry powder. It was perfect. A great gluten-free recipe for me. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I've had a bag of brown lentils and a few cans of fire roasted tomatoes in my cabinet for months now, wondering what I should do with them. I received this recipe via email (through the site subscription) and thought it would be the perfect recipe solution. I'm also on a tight budget at the moment and this is extremely inexpensive to make. It's very quick and easy too! I tried to leave the recipe as is (it sounded just fine to me). I did double it, made some spice adjustments, and used vegetable broth instead of water. This simple stew has excellent flavor, it's filling, and healthy. Everything I look for in a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupOfNina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I love this recipe because you can add whatever other veggies you have on hand. I didn't have curry so I added turmeric. For those that gave it a low rating because you thought it had no flavor, you should add salt and pepper to taste, maybe more garlic or other seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I made the recipe as is. I think it was great! Very versatile as stated in other reviews with their tweeking of the ingredients. I also like it was in a small amount so I didn't end up with a huge pot of something I didn't like, just in case. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States