Tomato, Cucumber and Red Onion Salad with Mint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This is a DELICIOUS salad...and the only reason that I gave it 4 stars is due to the revisions that I made. The best advice I can give anyone looking to try a new recipe, is to read the reviews from other cooks who have tryed it first. Very valuable and well worth afew extra mins to do some reading! I used Rice Wine Vinegar rather than the much stronger suggested Red Wine. I cut back abit on the sugar and added one minced Garlic Clove and alittle Celery seed as well. I cut the seeded Cukes in chunks and salted them in a colander in the frig for about an hour to draw out some of the water. Other reviews mentioned that the Red onion was over-powering. As a result I used only 1/4 of a red Onion;sliced very thin and steeped it for 5 mins. in hot water and then drained to 'soften' the sharpness,then added 5 Green onions; sliced to make up the difference lost in the amount. One other thing that was unclear is WHAT KIND of Mint to use. I have 3 different kinds growing in my herb bed. I used Peppermint in this recipe and minced it finely ( again a suggestion from another review )Peppermint was brighter in taste than the Spearmint I sampled in the garden. Top with Feta Cheese if you have some..yummy! Overall.VERY GOOD salad. Both my Husband and I really enjoyed it with Rosemary Salmon and fresh Corn-on-the-Cob. Well worth trying and adjusting to your own personal tastes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canaan Valley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Refreshing and excellent flavor! A great use of the garden veggies and mint. I was very pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I liked the flavors blended together. What I did not like was the large chunks of veggies. Next time I will cut cucumber into quarters and use halved cherry tomatoes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
It's tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I tried this recipe with a little cilantro added and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julaina's mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsonburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This is my new "go to" salad for the summertime. Very light and refreshing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I made the recipe with 2 cucumbers, 1/2 the red onion, and 2 tomatoes. All other ingredients the same. I didn't have mint (forgot it at the store), but decided to make it anyway. I thought it was absolutely delicious. I added some crumbled feta cheese on top and was in heaven! it is such an easy recipe and soooo delicious, even without the mint. Some reviewers said it was too "vinegary"; in my opinion it was just right. Thank you for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HADHAFANG13
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Yumdiddlyumpcious! My co-worker has wild mint that grows in her yard and she gave me a gallon sized baggie full to use up. This salad was perfect! very refreshing. This made a huge batch - I had company for a barbecue and they all loved it. I devoured the leftovers over the next day or two :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HADHAFANG13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I have a mint plant and didn't know what to use it for. The fresh mint leaves really made this recipe pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Thanks! I needed a good base recipe for tomato and cucumber salad. Skip the mint and substitute rice wine vinegar for the red wine vinegar and you have Noodles & Co's cucumber tomato salad recipe! I sprinkle it with celery salt, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkionwine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States