Tomato, Cucumber and Red Onion Salad with Mint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Excellent combination !!! I topped it off with some Feta and substituted the vinegar with Lime Juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Malone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I've been made fun of for making this, for years! So glad to see that other people enjoy it too. I've never known how to dress it up and thanks to you now I can. I always had it with just tomatoes, cukes, vinegar, salt, pepper! And folks out there concerned about it getting watery, not a problem. Cukes and tomatoes are so full of water, the ingredients bring out that water. But I just eat this delicious, refreshing snack and leave the water in my dust. It's always going to "sweat" I believe it's called, just because of it's character. Not a problem for me, I use a fork and the water just drains right through to the bottom of the dish. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
For those who thought there was too much liquid...slice the cucumber down lenthwise and scrape out the center seeds...then chop the cucumber into bite size chunks. I've made this for years but usually just add zesty italian dressing and no mint. This receipes just gives a little different twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
my mom made this salad many times years agoshe added crutons to it though. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Awesome! Simple and quick to make. Nice and light. Husband LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I like this combination, but found the recipe very salty and had to add more sugar and vinegar to try and balance out the saltiness. I also cut the olive oil because it didn't seem necessary. It wasn't. The dressing was watery, but that was fine by me, and it marinaded the veggies so it's even better after a day in the fridge. I liked the amount of mint in the recipe and wouldn't reduce it, it provides a nice fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This salad is very yummy. The red wine and sugar marinade is delicious and adds a sweet yet almost acidic flavor. I added avocado which we love and it added a creamy texture to all the crunch. The mint was refreshing! This salad is very reminscent of a salad I make affectionately called "Drew's Salad" after my hubby who does not like lettuce. I make mine with all the ingredients here but also with chopped sweet peppers (the little ones you can get in the bag now.) I use Italian dressing or oil/balsamic, but I think I will keep making this salad and yummy dressing but continue to add avo and also peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avabelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
If anyone is doing WW I put this into the Recipe Builder and it comes out to 3 Points under the new Points Plus system because of the Olive Oil. The only thing I'd like to know is the serving size - yes I know you get 6 servings out of this, but how big? Is it a cup, 1/2 cup? Definitely a nice, easy salad for the summer. Thank you for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Bracken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I like the sweet flavor. Great summer side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Loved it! Our garden has produced an abundance of cucumbers, so I've used at least 3 different salads from this site. I really like the mint flavor with the red wine vinegar. I only used about 1 Tbsp of olive oil and I always substitute green onions for red onions since my husband doesn't like red ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States