Tomato, Cucumber and Red Onion Salad with Mint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
We add a few little less onion but that's just personal preference. The first time we tried this we took it to a party. It was a hit. We took an empty bowl home with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Yummy! I didn't have the mint and added some feta cheese. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNICHOLSLCC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bennington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I wasn't that hungry for dinner so I made this light and refreshing veggie salad. People at work are bringing in cucumbers and tomatoes from their gardens and of course I grabbed some!! Glad that I did. I didn't use the mint because I didn't have any just a little bit of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I made this recipe as is and I thought it was great! I made it for a cooking club and it was a great hit. Nice change from the typical cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Very, very good. Flavorful without any harshness. Followed directions exactly. Used orange and red tomato-a very pretty salad too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I love the unexpected flavor of mint. Awsome ty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Very yummy! I only put in 6 mint leaves . . . but they made all the difference in the world! I'm going to have some of this in my frig for whenever I need a little something zippy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This is a DELICIOUS salad...and the only reason that I gave it 4 stars is due to the revisions that I made. The best advice I can give anyone looking to try a new recipe, is to read the reviews from other cooks who have tryed it first. Very valuable and well worth afew extra mins to do some reading! I used Rice Wine Vinegar rather than the much stronger suggested Red Wine. I cut back abit on the sugar and added one minced Garlic Clove and alittle Celery seed as well. I cut the seeded Cukes in chunks and salted them in a colander in the frig for about an hour to draw out some of the water. Other reviews mentioned that the Red onion was over-powering. As a result I used only 1/4 of a red Onion;sliced very thin and steeped it for 5 mins. in hot water and then drained to 'soften' the sharpness,then added 5 Green onions; sliced to make up the difference lost in the amount. One other thing that was unclear is WHAT KIND of Mint to use. I have 3 different kinds growing in my herb bed. I used Peppermint in this recipe and minced it finely ( again a suggestion from another review )Peppermint was brighter in taste than the Spearmint I sampled in the garden. Top with Feta Cheese if you have some..yummy! Overall.VERY GOOD salad. Both my Husband and I really enjoyed it with Rosemary Salmon and fresh Corn-on-the-Cob. Well worth trying and adjusting to your own personal tastes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canaan Valley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Refreshing and excellent flavor! A great use of the garden veggies and mint. I was very pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I liked the flavors blended together. What I did not like was the large chunks of veggies. Next time I will cut cucumber into quarters and use halved cherry tomatoes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States