Tomato Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Make it all the time. So refreshing. I use less onions (preferably red) and more lemon. I usually make a huge batch with lots of cucumbers. (we like to graze on salads in our house--keeps well in fridge for the day.) I also like to add mint and dill to the olive oil/lemon dressing and of course, crumbled feta cheese. Have added chickpeas on occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I also make a variation of this salad. I use less onion, add in olives and some mozorella cheese and then instead of lemon juice i use a kraft dressing that is roasted red pepper and sundried tomatoe. However, yours is good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This recipe is okay. A little boring once made so I mixed in some feta cheese crumbles before serving and it made a decent side-dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I made this for Labor Day . It was just right , light and refreshing ! The lemon flavor was just perfect. I juiced a whole lemon for mine. The review about "gutting" your tomato is the right way to go.Thanks for the head up on that one !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Just kinda "meh" for me. Not great, not horrible - somewhere in the middle. I thought this was missing something, even though I followed the suggestions of basil, olive oil, and a kiss of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was excellent. A perfect & light accompaniment to our main dish. I used VHAFT99s suggestions and added: olive oil, basil, parsley. Per other suggestions, I only used 1/2 an onion and it did seem like the right combination. I will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
There is nothing complicated or challenging about this recipe. It just tastes great because it is a great combination of ingredients. This is also a recipe that people will modify to fit their own taste. For me, I added olive oil, fresh mozzarella and fresh basil. Next time, I might throw in some peppers. It is really all about what you are in the mood for. However, when you start with good tomatoes, cucumbers and onions you are off to a great start. One more thing - use kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Fresh and delicious! I used grape tomatoes and cucumbers from my garden for this, and the lemon juice was a nice change from the red wine vinegar I usually use when making this dish. The only change I made was adding some of my fresh dill, also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I thought this was really good. I made one small change and added about a tablespoon of olive oil. And I only used half an onion (my preference). But other than that this was really easy and a great side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msxkitty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
with 2 parts vinegar, 1 part olive oil and a TBSP of sugar - fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States