Tomato Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Just kinda "meh" for me. Not great, not horrible - somewhere in the middle. I thought this was missing something, even though I followed the suggestions of basil, olive oil, and a kiss of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was excellent. A perfect & light accompaniment to our main dish. I used VHAFT99s suggestions and added: olive oil, basil, parsley. Per other suggestions, I only used 1/2 an onion and it did seem like the right combination. I will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
There is nothing complicated or challenging about this recipe. It just tastes great because it is a great combination of ingredients. This is also a recipe that people will modify to fit their own taste. For me, I added olive oil, fresh mozzarella and fresh basil. Next time, I might throw in some peppers. It is really all about what you are in the mood for. However, when you start with good tomatoes, cucumbers and onions you are off to a great start. One more thing - use kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Fresh and delicious! I used grape tomatoes and cucumbers from my garden for this, and the lemon juice was a nice change from the red wine vinegar I usually use when making this dish. The only change I made was adding some of my fresh dill, also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I thought this was really good. I made one small change and added about a tablespoon of olive oil. And I only used half an onion (my preference). But other than that this was really easy and a great side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msxkitty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
with 2 parts vinegar, 1 part olive oil and a TBSP of sugar - fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
A fresh light salad for a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
we all thought the fresh veggies tasted better on their own. I think it was the lemon juice that messed this up for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is my favorite salad. A friend made it for me and I went crazy over it! The only things I would change in this recipe is to add a 12 oz can(pitted) whole black olives - medium size. I keep them whole. Drain and rinse olives before adding to mix. I actually use the juice from 2 lemons and use about 1/2 cup or more of olive oil. For those who think the salad is bland... I'm guessing that you did not add enough salt & pepper - please try it again - you will surprise yourself! It is fresh tasting and everyone goes nuts over it every time I make it. I usually chill it 30 minutes so the juices can marinate the veggies. I cannot wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
33
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States