Tomato Cucumber Onion Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I love this salad and make it all summer long. I, too, use about half the oil, and I add a little sugar (maybe a teaspoon or two for this amount of veggies) and some chopped fresh oregano and parsley (a tablespoon or so of each--they add eye appeal, too). And I usually do a quick seeding of the tomatoes & cukes with my thumb just to help cut down on the liquid. Goes great with grilled anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Made just as recipe states. Thank you for sharing. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Yes,twice a week wonderful.Justine all other recipes.Love it and love site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy saunders 3108

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
So easy, fresh and delish. Added a little splenda because I have a sweet tooth. Served with a steak dinner. Everyone loved it. Thank you for the recipe. It will be in our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
yes, a little sugar is nice. Cuts the vinegar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I actually didn't try this particular recipe, but I make something similar very often. I cut up the cucumber, tomatoes and red onion, then add red wine vinegar dressing..I believe it's wishbone, then add salt and pepper...delicious every time! ALWAYS add salt...it makes the cucumbers absorb the dressing...makes a hug difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made it for a crowd on Christmas and everyone loved it. Colorful and easier than having a conventional salad on the plate with other sides. I didn't read the reviews first and had way too much oil. Half is the answer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I loved the flavors. The issue I had was WAY too much dressing. I tried it with 1/4 c vinegar and 1/4 c oil and it still was too much. The salt and pepper I left the same. I will still make it because it was really good, but I will add much more veggies and a dash of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi Layton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This reminds me of the summer salads my mom made when I was a kid. I love her dearly, but she isn't the greatest cook. They say it skips a generation. ANYWAY... Instead of chopping, I sliced the onions and cukes paper thin. I sliced the onion about an eighth of an inch thick. Like the other folks, I reduced the oil by half and added some sugar. Also, I mixed the dressing, onions and cukes together first and then added the tomatoes, so they wouldn't get all beat up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Simple and pretty little salad that really will complement just about anything. I cut the oil in half to reduce the fat grams with no sacrifice to flavor IMO. There was a lot of juice in the bowl as a result of the cukes and the tomatoes releasing liquid, so I did need a slotted spoon to serve. Next time, I might try squeezing the tomatoes a little to get some of the juice and seeds out and maybe even cut the vinegar back a little. Nothing fancy here, just a nice little salad that is sure to please everybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States