Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
My family absolutely loved this recipe. Great tasting pasta sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gadacz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Timothy Robert
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I added some white wine while sautéing the onions, and some Parmesan cheese, but it's a great base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timothy Robert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Sorry, we did not like this at all !!Way too much onion too much basil and just bland. Had to throw it out :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Simply yum! Simple and quick to make. Tasty and filling; served over a mixture of orecchie and wild garlic fettuccine. I only added a pinch of baking soda to cut the bitter tomato taste and I used San Marzano whole tomatoes and cut them up with the juice. So flavorful - and the leftovers were even better as it gave the ingredients a chance to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Bpth my children and my friends liked this dish. I diced real tomatoes and added Italian spices. Like many other reviewers, I doubled the recipe, pureed it with a hand-held blender, and used half and half instead of cream. It wss a bit runny and I will definitely add tomato paste next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Made this and used over tortellini, pretty mediocre,will not make again.Did not like the chunky mixture in cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I have made this a few times and really enjoyed it with the exception of the sweetness. So I have reduced the amount of sugar to no more then 2 or 3 tablespoons and I have added red pepper flakes to the onion and garlic as they sautee to add a bit of a kick. I now use crushed tomatoes (28 ounce can) and add a 6 ounce can of tomato paste to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Would be best made a day ahead so flavors meld and would be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Amazing taste and very easy to prepare- used fresh tomatoes and herbs, flavor out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
There are only two of us, but I made this sauce for 6 servings (since a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes makes that amount) knowing if it was a good as the reviews that there'd be enough for use later in the week. (Use the serving size calculator - very helpful) Purchased chicken/cheese ravioli for use with this sauce and it was awesome... Two nights later, I gently reheated the sauce in the microwave, adding small amounts of leftover Heavy Cream to adjust refrigerated consistency. This time paired with Ziti pasta. (Raves were Equal to meal prepared earlier in the week from the Mrs..) Next will try Linguine and perhaps add sliced mushrooms during the onion/garlic sautéing stage. As my wife is a great fan of sauces that use tomatoes, she absolutely loved it and has asked for frequent inclusion in menu rotation. BTW - with this sauce prepared ahead of time: Second meal prep time took 10 mins to boil the Ziti, you cannot beat that for a restaurant quality meal made at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 831) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States