Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
So delicious! I pureed mine in the blender as I prefer smooth creamy sauces, and I added three garlic cloves as I love garlic. I used only half of the onion, and substituted 3/4 cup of skim milk instead of the heavy cream to cut back on calories. The addition of Italian seasoning added an extra zip and zing. Served over fresh cheese ravioli and with a side green salad, it was a fantastic and simple meal. If you double the recipe, you can freeze the remainder of sauce and have on hand for guests or cold nights when you crave comforting pasta dishes. A terrific recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
640 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Very good! A winner in my book. I substituted fat-free half and half for the cream,cut the butter a little and doubled the garlic. I also used my hand blender and smoothed it a little, so that it wasn't super chunky but still had texture. Hubby loved it. Served it over organic spinach fetuccini with spicy italian sausage sliced on top. Beautiful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
317 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This sauce has a great flavor to it--sweet but not cloying. I must concur with other reviewers: the consistency is a bit too thin. I suspect this could be thickened without sacrificing too much flavor by adding flour according to taste. Flour is usually an ingredient in cream sauces, but is absent from this particular recipe. Spices and tomatoes may need to be increased if flour is added, but the sauce should become satisfactorily viscous. I suggest adding flour in small quantities, being cautious not to use too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This was excellent and easy. I didn't have Italian style tomatoes so I used petite diced and added 1 tsp of Italian seasonings. I only used 1/2 of an onion, otherwise made to recipe. Delicious, served over mini penne pasta and shredded parmesan. Wish I had grilled chicken to go over top. One complaint: this really only made enough for 3 servings, no way 5 unless this was for a side dish. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This has become my staple sauce since I first discovered it on this site. I have made it a countless number of times now, both as per recipe for a small scale, and slightly altered for a much larger scale. Regardless, I always use more garlic than called for and always run the whole thing through the blender to smooth the sauce. This is absolutely delicious and always receives rave reviews. Quick, easy, and foolproof - what more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Incredibly good and so easy to make! I doubled the sauce and used half and half instead of cream. The only thing I added to thicken it was a 6 oz. can of tomato paste. I will make this again and again. With recipes like this, there's no need to buy jarred sauces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
sauteed onions, mushrooms, garlic and red pepper, then added tomatoes, brought to a boil..... Then I pureed the whole thing in blender. My family has yet to know off these added, rarely eaten (by them) veggies........I replaced fat free half-n-half for heavy whipping cream (as I do most things, too much fat & calories for us) and added fresh grated Parmaggiano cheese! The sugar is important (altho I use Splenda) to help take adge off the tomato taste. Was yummy and very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was a great sauce for our pasta. I didn't have any Italian diced tomatoes so I just used regular and added italian seasoning. Also, didn't have heavy cream on hand, so I used 3/4 of a cup of whole milk and 1/3 cup of butter. I added red pepper flakes (husband likes it hot) and a little all-purpose flour to thicken and it was wonderful. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
WOW! What a great sauce! So here's what I did...like another member, after cooking tomatoes, onion, garlic and spices in saucepan, I put mixture into blender and pureed. Then I put back into saucepan, stirred in 3/4 cup nonfat milk (in place of heavy cream) and butter. I left out sugar altogether. Didn't need it. I added a small amount of grated parmesan cheese to give it an extra kick. What I got was a sauce that tasted like it was full of fat and calories, but it was actually almost fat free and very healthy! Not to mention, it was EXTREMELY easy to make. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This is extremely delicious and easy to make! I decided to add green peppers and more onion, garlic and cream than was mentioned. I also did not use the canned italian style diced tomatoes, but regular tomatoes. You can definitely change it around a bit to fit your taste. I served it over spinach fettuccine alongside fried chicken cutlets and some homemade bread. Everyone loved it! Don't use half and half instead of heavy cream. Some suggested it so I tried it and I was very disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 834) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States